51. The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have com

The business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants implicates that the replacement of margarine from butter does not have much impact on their customers because fewer complaints have been received and no complaints were reported by servers. However, some alternative explanations might exist that will debunk the interpretation explained by the manager.

The threshold explanation that could be challenged is that 2 percent of customers have complained. The author simply predicts that 98 people out of 100 on average are happy with the change. This indication lacks substantiate details so that the conclusion might be untenable. For example, people who do not pour out their complaints to these restaurants might not order butter, indicating that they do not know the change. If they order butter but be served for margarine, they might say something or show their displeasure to the manager or servers. However, some people, when being asked how they feel after substituting butter with margarine, might politely reject to say anything or hurriedly go to work without any response. These two alternative interpretations might show that the remaining customers might not satisfy with the change despite 2 percent of people complained. The manager should ponder other possibilities that might not substantiate his or her prediction.

The second issue that should be discussed with other explanations is that many servers have reported there is no complaints among a large number of customers who order butter but given margarine. The manager employs this reason to support the conclusion that this substituent does not make customers irritated The alternative understanding that many servers have not received complains is that only in a certain couples of branches is there no complaints, that is to say, other restaurants except those have plummeted in a bunch of complaints servers have received. In addition, the other alternative is that servers bury discontent of customers to show all changing to margarine is not a big deal although it has not informed customers the news. These possible scenarios could readily falsify the servers’ words.

Other explanations might exist when the manager indicates that they do not distinguish margarine butter from margarine or they mean butter as margarine, which is the reason of no complaints received from servers. However, a multitude of demonstration includes that they release no complaints in restaurants but back home, school, or workplace. The complaints will transfer people by people, which engenders this change without notice to customers will hurt customers a lot and then they never patronize here again. This unnoticed change is really tricky and sensational behavior that should have warn customers ahead of time or in mealtime. These possible alternatives might be justifiable to vindicate the change has already insidiously jeopardize customer’s confidence and loyalty attached to the restaurants.

To conclude it, the manager needs to conduct more surveys to maintain his or her perception. The arbitrary assumptions and arrogant presumption might be proved wrongly with no leading alternatives. Alternative possibilities can easily enable Happy Pancake house to be dishonored from unstated complaints from a large proportion of customers.