All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

Parenting is a demanding task because parents must work to raise families. There are suggestions for all parents to be required to volunteer time to their children’s school. However, parents’ involvement to children’s school must not be mandatory but optional.

For busy parents and underprivileged parents, being required to volunteer time to children’s school is not flexible and would not be as efficient as schools expect. Firstly, parents must work in the daytime from Monday to Friday. If school chooses to have a teacher-parent conference, most parents might not be allowed by their companies to take leaves because they have to tackle urgent tasks. Still, some parents take business trips in other cities, so participation in their children’s school is impractical for them. I once heard of a story that Barack Obama did not miss any teacher-parent conference once although he, as the president of the United States, must cope with a multitude of tasks. However, supposed that a parent is doctor and must take an operation for a dying patient, requiring to participate in the teacher-parent conferences does not make sense.

Secondly, some parents are underprivileged, and they might feel embarrassed and shameful in front of other parents when involving children’s school. Compared to parents who are fundraisers of schools and successful entrepreneurs or professors who can raise hands to share their parenting experiences, those who only supply foods and shelters to children would feel uncomfortable and guilty. Certainly, school sponsors would like to blindly suppress the authority of other parents, particularly the underprivileged and flagrantly show their egocentric and incorrect philosophy of teaching and managing. Therefore, the attendance of parents who only afford children’s food and shelters is meaningless to change schools and students, and more seriously, the fundraiser parents’ ideas would ruin schools and students.

For children in their puberty, having their parents volunteer time to their school as a requirement could be damaging. Children should mold communication skills, correct values and personalities as much as possible in schools when nobody, especially parents, interrupt them. Therefore, if parents often get involved their school, they have not sufficient time and space to be with other children. Preparation of chorus competition and play performance helps children build friendship and enhance cooperation, however, parents’ involvement would make it in chaos because grown-ups are displeased to their parents’ surveillance or ward all the time. If parents always step in to help them or give suggestions, their children may see them as “enemy”.

For elementary and middle school teachers, requiring parents to volunteer time to schools will trigger inconvenience. Imagine all parents sitting in classrooms and teachers standing, parents then raise their hands to expression their opinion or make suggestion. This would disturb classroom management in school altogether and make it difficult to educate students. A parent whose child bullies others might suggest teacher no punishment to that child instead of suspension of schooling and introspection at home for several days. As a consequence, if school regulation is broken down, forcible involvement will jeopardize education.

Although parents volunteering to children’s school can enhance bonds between children and parents and help parents better instruct their own children at home, it is merciless to force all parents to be involved children’s school with consideration of inconvenience for parents, children, and teachers.