All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you ta

Parenting is a demanding task for most parents because parents have to work for raising families in workdays. Whether all parents should be required to volunteer time to their children’s school is a contentious issue. I have a clear-cut decision that parent involvement to children’s school is not mandatory but optional.

For parents, this requirement to children’s school is not flexible and would not become efficient as school expected. Firstly, parents have to work in daytime from Monday to Friday. If school chooses to have teacher parent conference, most parents might not be accepted by their companies to take leaves because they must tackle the urgent programs at hand or take operations to patients and etc. Still, some parents work or take business trip in other cities, participation to children’s school is impractical for them. Secondly, some parents are physically challenged or underprivileged, they might feel embarrassed and shameful in front of other parents. Compared to parents who are the fundraisers of schools and successful entrepreneurs or professors who can raise hands to share their parenting experiences, those who only supply foods and shelter to children would feel uncomfortable and guilty.

For children, this requirement will hurt children in several ways during puberty period. Children should mold communication skills, correct values and personalities as much as possible in schools when nobody, especially parents do not interrupt them. Therefore, if parents often involve their school life frequently, they have not sufficient time and space to be with other children. In that case, schools must be to blame for children’s alienation from others and impoliteness towards others. In addition, adolescents would be rejective to parents’ participation in schools because they have grown up and do not hope parents’ surveillance or ward all the time besides them. If they always step in to help them or give them suggestion what to do or not to do, parents would play the role of “enemy” for children and consequently impede their free growth.

For teacher, this requirement will trigger inconvenience of teacher’s management and inefficiency of teaching. Imagine that all parents sit in classroom and teachers stand in platform in front of parents, parents raise their hands to show their opinion such as “stop punishment to their children if they do not finish homework or bully other children.” However, no punishment means that teachers are irresponsible and ignorant of school’s regulation. Some improper suggestions would disturb regular management in school altogether and therefore influence cultivation for students. Besides, if teacher’s teaching schedules and teaching methods are always challenged or forced to suspend by parents who have disparate opinions for teaching schedule, this involvement will jeopardize teaching race and interrupt students’ learning.

Although parents volunteering to children’s school can enhance affinity bond between children and parents and help parents better instruct their own child at home, it is merciless to force all parents to involve children’s school life with consideration of inconvenience for parents, children, and teachers.