To serve the housing needs of our students Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories Buckingham s enrollment is growing and based on current trends will double over the next 50 years thus making existing dormitory space inadequate Moreov

In this memo the director of student housing at Buckingham College recommends that Buckingham should construct numerous new dorms. The director registers three plausible proofs to strengthen his or her recommendation. However, to enhance the argument and recommendation based on the argument, specific evidence should be delivered by the director.

To begin with, data and statistics should be trailed in the following fifty years to record whether their enrollment in Buckingham College will double, which makes dorms inadequate. If they do not deliver chronicle of enrollment in the next fifty years, construction of new dorms might be an unsuccessful try and cause them in the tight budget in future. In fact, every college in annual rankings bulletined in Times or other magazines has different ranking results, that is to say, nobody can confidently assume there will double in decades. If the evidence might occur that other colleges have higher employment rate than Buckingham College and enroll more celebrated professors, enrollment of Collegeville will not surely increase in future and building a myriad of dorms might be unwise.

Secondly, surveys should be conducted by the director to investigate whether the housing rent of students has also risen in recent years although the average rent for an apartment in this town has incremented. If surveys’ result is shown that students lived in off-campus housing has paid the same as before or paid less than before, building new dorms still cannot allure them to live back at campus. After all, luxury housing rent might drag average rent increased. Surveys might present that students, despite paying more renting in off-campus housing in recent years, might still choose to live outside the campus because it pays slightly higher than those at campus but more convenient to purchase foods in supermarkets. Unless the director firstly launches a survey to ask whether student rent payment in off-campus houses is higher and whether they would like to live at campus, the recommendation is reckless.

Thirdly, more questionnaires should be handed out by Buckingham to warrant their assumption that beautiful dorms might be a significant determinant for potential students to enroll at Buckingham. Arranging some questions and choices would be better. For example, they can ask students what is the most attraction for you to apply for Buckingham. The answer might be attractive dorms, a bunch of professional experts with researching experiences for decades, or ranking level in the academic achievements globally. The answer to this question chosen by students might be the latter two choices. Only by assuming attractive dorms might be the most desirable bait might the recommendation be lack of contemplations.

To conclude it, the director should deliver more questionnaires and release more surveys to give the proposal a stronger support. Otherwise, building more dorms for Buckingham might fail to increase enrollment but cause financial burden.