In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Art can help people heal their broken heart and gives them encouragement and inspiration. If art works can be understandable to most people, people would consider it can bring them relaxation and recreation. However, understandability is not the sole criterion to measure merit of art works.

Art works sometimes is too esoteric and unrelatable to most people because it shows the inner emotion of artists which utterly transcends comprehension of people in their time. However, it does not represent that those works are meaningless. Scream painted by Edvard Munch is extremely abstract masterpiece. From his time to current days, most people thought the man in the painting is startled by what he or she has seen. Unfortunately, the true feeling behind the startling emotion is deeper and more complex than startle, that is, desperation and anxiety in the bottom of human’s heart. It is irrefutable that not everyone can reach the comprehension the painter wants to show, but the merit of this painting would not be overshadowed.

In addition, some art works still have the exotic lyrics some people do not comprehend; however, it does not influence worth of art works. Because rhythms and tones of music can shatter language barrier and deliver listeners resonance such as depression, courage, agony or love, this music is still invaluable although the lyrics are not intelligible for many people. For example, Vitas, the Russian singer, is known for his unique falsetto and for possessing five-octave vocal range. His song “Opera 2” achieved quick notability because of his gifted high pitch although most people who do not speak Russian do not appreciate the lyrics at all. His talented sound can show elegance and delicacy of music and musician’s sound and give people power and enjoyment.

Finally, some artists utilize complicated techniques which may be arcane to most people to interpret truths, however, it does not represent their works have no value. People understanding profound philosophy of thoughts or techniques in art works should be equipped with accumulation of more knowledge and experience, otherwise, the art works still are not savvied by most people. For example, The Unbearable Lightness of Being written by Milan Kundera tells the story on the meaning of lives in philosophical perspective. Unfortunately, most people still cannot catch up the meaning between lines in his novel. Looking at the movie “Empire” shot by Andy Warhol which consists of eight hours of footage of the Empire State Building in New York City at dusk. He intended to show time flow and every moment of the Empire; however, most people do not accept the movie with no plots and no handsome men or beautiful women. Anyway, he has been still the representative of the experimenting filmmaker since the 1960s.

In conclusion, whether art has value or not is attributable to what artists want to express no matter what complex techniques and genres and mysterious language are in art works. Therefore, understandability is not the parameter to determine worthiness of art works.