In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

What is art? Art, in addition to being a creative expression of beauty, is also a method of communication and passing on the culture. Thus, some people argue that for any work of art to have value, it must be understandable to the majority. I fundamentally disagree with the claim because there are many invaluable artistic works that are not understood by most common people.

First, an artist might be ahead of time and produce works which are not appreciated and acknowledged by contemporary people. Consider Vincent Van Gogh, a prominent Dutch post-impression painter, whose works, such as the Starry Night, one of the most recognized paintings in the history of western culture, were ignored when he was alive. However, nowadays people appreciate the impressive strokes and colors used in his painting. Thus, artwork with significant merit could be remain neglected for a long period because its producer is such a pioneer who cannot be accepted by most people in his time.

Moreover, the artistic beauty of a good piece of work could be appealing even though people do not truly understand its meaning. For example, music is a form of art that can prevail all around the world regardless of language barrier. Though the lyrics are in different language, the synthesis of sound of various musical instruments can create an extremely mellifluous tune attracting people and surpassing the fact that they do not understand its meaning. Art is a kind of dialogue, although we are not literally having a conversation with the creator, we can feel related to the emotion and passion conveyed in it and learn how to respond to it and question it, despite enormous cultural barriers.

Finally, sometimes the merits of an artwork can only be judged by selected group of people. For instance, very few people can comprehend Shakespeare’s works in its original form; yet it is truly known work of merit. This is because people need a level of literary skills and knowledge to be able to interpret its language style, which makes it higher than the ordinary literary works and sets it apart. For that matter, the very fact that most people cannot understand some artworks grants them merit, as it needs skills to do so.

In conclusion, be it being understood by most people or not, the value of artworks would not be overshadowed. Their merits can be acclaimed, even just by a selected group, because they are ground-breaking and are able to represent ideas beyond culture barrier.