Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, many people focus on creating a wide social network by making as many friends as possible. The larger the number of people they acquaint, the stronger the sense of being popular they can feel. However, my view is that the ability to maintain sound friendship with a few intimate friends is of more significant for one's happiness.

To begin with, having long lasting friends gives people a sense of belonging. Although it is not a simple work to build a sincere friendship and it can take a lot of time and efforts to turn an acquaintance into a close friend, those old friends are more reliable than the new ones. It is widely acknowledged that life is repleted with ups and downs, which in both conditions intimate friends play an irreplaceable role in our life. Not only do they offer us companion by sharing joyful and bitter moment, but also genuinely support us by encourage us to face difficulties. In contrast, making new friends render us to be surrounded by more people, but we cannot rely on them all because we do not understand them as well as we know about our best friends.

Another reason why managing friendship is more desirable is that people have more in common with old friends rather than new ones. They have many precious memories of doing a lot of things together, such as participating activities, traveling and working. In addition, most of the long lasting friendships are initiated since school, thus lead people to make friends with the same insight, goal and motivation. For example, I have a friend since I was in elementary school, and the most amazing thing is that even after all this time, we still have similar interests towards a myriad of things, such as music, movies and TV programs.

In conclusion, though sustaining long-term connection is never an easy task, we are likely to be more delightful by keeping old friends since they are reliable and share worthy memories.