TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of civilization, people have attached great value to education because it provides a platform for students to gain knowledge. Universities, the most prestigious institution in the educational system, never stop their pace to improve the quality of education, always be finding better ways to cultivate skillful labors for the society. Thus, some people argue that they should spend more money on professors' salaries. Personally speaking, I fundamentally agree with this view because money can motivate professors to focus on teaching and researching and can attract more excellent faculties.

To begin with, money is a strong motivation to keep professors concentrated on their job: teaching and researching. In this modern and materialism society, everyone is struggling to earn a living, be it a teacher, an engineer or a businessman. Compared to the past days, professors now are receiving relatively lower salaries and less respect due to the development of the public educational system, and sometimes they even need to take other jobs to support their family. However, only when not need to worry about surviving issues can professors put their hearts to teach students and conduct researches. For example, my university spends a small proportion of its expenditure on faculty's salary, and many of my professors run a business such as a software company to make more money. The professor of a language course that I have attended last year usually went to the school only twice a week to give us lectures, devoting most time and effort to organizing his business. As a result, in many cases, we needed to study on our own because he did not have the time to offer tutoring sessions.

Moreover, offering a competitive salary can help the university to attract excellent professors. We all know that in the job market, the company that can recruit most talented employees is the one that can provide the highest paycheck. Similarly, if a university wants to attract prominent faculties, it has to show them a lot of advantages, such as free accommodation, flexible working time, and of course, the most direct and appealing factor -- high salaries. In this way, professors with various interests of study fields are likely to come to the school, which forms a comprehensive faculty to allow the school to provide a range of courses in high quality. For instance, it is said that ETH pays its Ph.D. candidates up to 35 thousand of Euro a year, which is the reason why many graduates would like to choose ETH to pursue a further degree and even become a professor in the future. All these can lay a solid foundation for the development of ETH, making it one of the best universities in almost all fields in the world.

To sum up, although other factors such as campus environment, good facilities, and advanced research equipment also play important roles in promoting education quality, the core value of a university lies in its distinguishing professors. Therefore, considering the aforementioned ideas, I believe that it is necessary for colleges to spend money on faculties' salaries.