The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On BalmerIsland, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population

increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving

mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of BalmerIsland should limit the number of mopeds

rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer

season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual

reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville,

when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how

the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this editorial recommends that to reduce accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, Balmer Island’s city council should restrict moped rentals. To support this conclusion, the author cites the fact that last year, when nearby Seaville Island enforced similar measures, its rate of moped accidents fell by 50%. However, these all constitute a problematic and vulnerable support for the author’s recommendation.

A threshold problem involves the author’s fail of considering other possible explanations for Balmer’s moped accidents. Perhaps the road infrastructures are poor in Balmer and lack of lights in the dark night makes moped ridders hard to recognize pedestrians. Or perhaps extreme weather events like storm and heavy rain occurs frequently and aggravate traffic safety. Without answering whether those scenarios are ruled out or not, the editor cannot establish a cause-and-effect relationship between utilization of mopeds and occurrence of accidents upon which the editor’s recommendation depends.

Yet another flaw of the argument is the ambiguous number of the annual reduction in moped accidents in Seaville. The 50% decline rate does not necessarily reflect the actual number of accidents. For example, there may be 20 moped accidents happened in Seaville before, while this figure only decreased to 10 by last year, which is not a remarkable achievement. Thus, it is impossible to indicate the effectiveness of such restrictions.

Even supposing that rental limitation is powerful, it is baseless for the author to indicate that it will also yield the same result this year. This is because things rarely remain the same over extended period. For example, the number of pedestrians might increase in the future; with more pedestrians, especially tourists, the risk of moped-pedestrian accidents would probably increase. Also, with a restricted supply of rental mopeds, people might purchase mopeds instead, which makes the total usage of mopeds remain or even rise. Any of these cases and other possible changes, if true, would serve to undermine the proposed restrictions.

Finally, even if such limitation works in Seaville, it is unclear whether it suits Balmer or not. Such poor analogy between the two islands falsely depends on the presumption that they share the identical traffic condition. In fact, it is entirely possible that with strict traffic rules, mopeds ridders are less dare to violate the rules, such as riding on the sidewalk and yielding to pedestrians in crosswalks, and thus contributes to the traffic safety. By contrast, citizens of Balmer tend to ignore traffic laws and often walk on the cycling roads, which puts themselves in danger. In short, without accounting for possible differences between these two islands, the arguer cannot prove that Balmer will reap the similar benefits from the proposed methods.

To sum up, the arguer fails to substantiate the recommendation of limiting mopeds rentals because the questions discussed above do not lead strong support to what the arguer suggests. To make the argument more convincing, the author would have to give more information regard to the causes of accidents, comprehensive evaluation of rental restriction policy and specific traffic conditions in both islands.