Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today our social network is expanding, we can see celebrities having hundreds of millions of followers on social medias, e.g. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. Almost everyone, especially the young generation, is trying to catch up with the trend that the more friends one has, the more popular he is - or at least seems to be. However, some argue that it is more important for happiness to maintain friendships with few people for a long time than to make as many new friends as possible. I totally agree with this view because old friends are more reliable and trustworthy than new ones.

First, having long lasting friendship gives us a sense of belonging. Life is repleted with ups and downs, which in both conditions intimate friends play an irreplaceable role. Not only do they celebrate our achievement, but also genuinely support us when we are in trouble. This kind of bond relationship gives us security and hope that in this world there is someone who will be with us no matter what happens. Take myself for example, I cannot recall how many times I have talked with Zizi, one of my best friends from primary school, about my concerns and secrets that is hard to ask my parents for help, such as complaining about the laborious schoolwork or the strict professor. To me, she is my comforter, a shoulder to cry on, the person who share my happiness, sorrow and pain.

Moreover, old friends are likely to be honest with us. Some people compare old friends to putting an old and comfortable pair of boots. I am inclined to argue against – being old friends with someone is not always relax; it can be awkward actually. They are likely to be the people who tell me not what I want to hear, but what I need to hear – that I am behaving bad at an audition to the drama club and how should I improve my performance – because they know the deepest crevices of who I am, where I am from, what I am worth and capable of. Old friends are often the mirror to ourselves. They know the essence of us and there is nothing more precious than the ability to be completely yourself with someone.

Admittedly, sometimes the ability to make many new friends easily benefits us too. In the society where we often need to team up with others to complete a certain goal - a course presentation, a business report, an engineer project, etc. - people attach great importance to human recourses. Salesmen need to be familiar with their customers quickly to promote products; businessmen want to build cooperating relationships with as many partners as possible; celebrities wish to be popular among all ages; politicians are restlessly seeking for votes from every state. However, this kind of friendship is so meteoric that we break up as long as they cannot bring any profit to us.

In the final analysis, although keeping a close friendship for a long period can consume a lot of effort, it is worthwhile because lifelong friends are reliable and make us feel secured. Therefore, I believe that close friendship with a small group of people is more important for a fulfilled and happy life.