Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

Governments serve people, and they must guarantee welfare of citizens as much as possible. Whether the immediate problems of today and the expected problems of the future are addressed is the best manifestation of government serving people. Therefore, both of these issues are considered as the indispensable perimeters to determine effectiveness of governments. That is to say, governments should focus on solving immediate and future problems.

Speaking of the immediate problems of today, it reminds people of unemployment, pollution, and terrorism. These issues must be emphasized and tackled by government. If they ignore them, citizens will be discontent to governments because they are unsafe physically and mentally and then governments would suffer to be overthrown or strongly resisted. Unemployment is one of the most perilous problems government should focus considering it closely relates to stability of people’s basic lives. everyone needs work to raise their own and their families. Imagine the rate of unemployment is twenty or even thirty percent in a country, the conceivable consequence is stagnation of national economy and citizens’ rebellion. The most vivid example is Franklin D. Roosevelt’s New Deal which addressed the serious issue of the Great Depression. Unemployment disappeared and economy restored. Pollution is another tough issue government should highlight. Only when there are good air quality and clean water can people’s health be protected. China is experiencing bad air quality caused by rocketing economic development. Smog is threating the health of every citizen. Government should ponder effective ways to minimize pollution at the cost of money and jobs. Nobody wants to see the tragedy of London in the first Industrial Revolution with calamity of millions of casualties triggered by metal processing and fuel abuse.

In addition, looking at terrorism, governments cannot choose to ignore but face it. the occurrences of these issues threat the safety of citizens and nation, and the successfully solving them can build trustworthiness and confidence of government. The 2013 Boston Marathon Bombing is deliberately planned by terrorists lived in Boston. Government assigned FBI to investigate the perpetrators and medical assistance teams to save the lives of innocent audiences in bombing spots. The efficiency of governmental investigation and the timely considerable medical treatment enabled government to be praised by people.

However, talking about the anticipated problem in the future, most people remind aging problem. Although it does not damage a city or a nation at once, someday it disastrously destroys competitiveness and power of a nation altogether. The more aging people a nation has, the less labors there will be. In the aftermath, economic meltdown would be the destination. Therefore, government should be concerned about this anticipated problem. Japan is the typical country with the highest ratio of aging people all over the world. During these years, Japanese government has carried out plans to reward bearing and has uplifted medical service for pediatrics. With the help of governmental investment and bonus incentive, the rate of fertility is increasing, meaning that aging issue are slowly but efficiently being changed.

To conclude it, government should bear the responsibility of caring about the immediate issues including terrorism, pollution, and unemployment and the expected problems such as aging problem. Juxtaposed with short and long-term problems, government will better serve people with acuteness and accuracy.