"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, ho

The author releases two studies to demonstrate more bicyclists wearing helmet than ten years ago, which has triggered 200 percent increase of accidents. Based on these, the author recommends that government should launch an education program to reduce serious injuries from bicycle accidents. However, questions should be addressed, otherwise, this recommendation and the argument will readily be debunked.

The first question that should be coped with is whether there are increasing bicyclists during the past ten years. Although it offers 35 percent of all bicyclists report wearing helmet ten years ago, but now 80 percent, it is not sure that during these ten years bicyclists who wear helmets are aggrandizing. If the answer of this question is that the number of bicyclists in the former ten years has diminished, the assumption that the increase of bicyclists who wear helmets from 35 percent to 80 percent will be doubtful. Consequently, more bicycle accidents are not attributable to more bicyclists with helmet. To reinforce the feasibility of educational programs, the author vindicates the prerequisite of reasoning is correct that bicyclists with helmets have climbed in number.

Assuming the number of bicyclists with helmet is amplifying as the author speculated, whether 200 increase of accidents generated by bicycling is brought by more bicyclists with helmet is a crucial issue. If 200 increase of accidents caused by bicycling results from these bicyclists, cancelling to wear helmet and projecting educational program will be instrumental to reduce the number of bicycling accidents. However, if the answer of this issue is that chaotic traffic condition or drivers crash down the bicyclists with helmets cause more accidents, wearing helmets when bicycling is highly recommended rather than enact a new educational program, indicating that educational program does not work well to achieve reduction of accidents.

Lastly, to decide the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable, the author must ponder: Only by initiating an education program can it reduce the number of severe injuries when bicycling, which should be witnessed with more details. Will all bicyclists obey traffic laws by the education program? Won ’t be possible that some of them are in breach of traffic regulations and do not follow instruction of education program? Accordingly, this situation will result in more risk of accidents from bicyclists who are obedient to follow the instruction but no wearing helmet. Unless the author ensures no perpetrators of traffic laws exist, its recommendation of intensifying safety education will succeed. Otherwise, it will generate more dreadfully serious problems than before.

All in all, to reduce the number of accidents and alleviate the serious injuries from accidents, governments should consider various projects of mitigation. Education program might be a long-term but efficacious strategy to tackle this problem. However, the questions of whether bicyclists are increasing in number, the reasons behind increase of accidents related to bicyclists, and the efficiency of education initiative should be answered ahead of time.