No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Basically, I partially agree that, through corporating knowledge or experience from other fields, one field of study can advance greatly because of lots of true stories showing the success of cross-disciplines. However, we should be aware that the statement falsely implies that ALL fields of study follow this rule, while certain pure sciences, such as mathematics or physics, could also advance significantly by themselves.

Firstly, the reason that I am in favor of the statement is that there are a myriad of stories proven that when the different fields of studies cooperated, one of them did advance significantly. For instance, carbon dating implemented in archaeology. Before this methodology being introduced to archaeology, the archaeologist could only estimate the era of an ancient piece by its shape, decoration, the location where it was found or other documents. With the help of carbon dating invented by scientists, archaeologists now could quickly and accurately determine the age of the article instead of going through the lengthy, complex dating process. Other successful cooperation like using nitrogen to maintain the freshness of meat or vegetable, where chemistry and agriculture are involved, also made me believe that sometimes, a field of study can greatly advance when cooperating experts with other fields.

Although I agree with the statement, the non-exception assumption that all fields of study should follow this rule is unwarranted. For some disciplines, it can be greatly advanced even without the knowledge from other disciplines. Take gravity for example. Newton, as an outstanding physician, discovered gravity because of his thoughtful observation of a common scene, an apple falling from the tree. One other example like Thomas Edison who invented the light bulb. He made this great breakthrough because he had made experiences for thousands of times by himself and no other experts from other disciplines had been involved. As a result, incorporation between various fields of study indeed could advance each other significantly, but sometimes the experts in his or her own discipline could also make a great breakthrough alone.

In sum, I would say that significant advance for any field of study could happen either by itself or at cooperation with knowledge or experience outside its own field, even both. As numerous true stories have proven so, the statement perhaps could be rephrased based on reasonable assumptions.