No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and

experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true

and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that no field of study can advance dramatically unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from other fields. I am in favor of this statement since it holds water in many fields.

The statement raises valid points in the field of humanities and social science. The communication and incorporation among the subjects like history and literature are pervasive. For example, if people want to study on Asian American, the historian can seek for some invaluable archive of this group. And the Asian American literature not only helps to analyze the current living condition of this group, it is also conducive to the research on how certain historical events affect these people. Never can we neglect the contribution made by anthropologists that they can study on this group by investigation and interviews. Hence, such complex study cannot be accomplished without the cooperation and communication among several fields.

It can also hold for the Engineering. The projects in this filed are always finished by a myriad of experts from different fields. For example, when the government considers whether they should establish a bridge in the city, the socialists need to collect the ideas from the citizens regarding whether they want such a new bridge. And if it is to be built, the knowledge from the mathematics can be beneficial to the calculation of the exact data of the proper width, length,and height of this bridge. It also needs the help from the theory of mechanics. Only when all of these aforementioned fields conspire to finish such a project can it be realized.

Even though in some fields which seem totally irrelevant, such as the Arts and the science, sometimes they can be combined to form a new subject to explore in the unknown area and improve the standard of living. For example, a subject named industrial design, which combines the knowledge of material science and engineering as well as art design, can be used to improve the appearance and functions of the products. Also, a subject called neuroscience, which incorporates the professional knowledge and experience from the physiology and biology area as well as mathematical modeling, can better study on nerve to understand certain behavior and mental problems of people.

Overall, under the scenarios mentioned before, no field of study is capable of acquiring progress dramatically unless it incorporate knowledge and experience from other fields.