Some companies in the United States have developed "wellness" programs that give rewards or incentives to employees for achieving certain health-related goals, such as stopping smoking or losing weight. The rewards and incentives include cash prizes, extra vacation days, or reduction of the employee's portion of health insurance fees (in the United States, health insurance fees are usually shared between the employer and the employee). Several arguments have been put forward in favor of the incentive programs.

First, the awards and incentives are an excellent motivational tool for people to adopt healthy lifestyles. Many people would like to quit smoking or lose weight, but have difficulty getting started. The incentives provide the extra motivation they need. One study suggests that giving people a cash incentive d^$750 significantly increases their chances of quitting smoking. And in another study, people who got cash incentives were more likely to lose weight than those who did not.

Second, the advocates of incentive programs argue that rewarding people who are willing to adopt healthier lifestyles is only being fair. People who exercise, eat healthy diets, and maintain a healthy weight, for example, are less likely to incur medical costs. Such people deserve to pay smaller health insurance fees or get more vacation days.

Third, although the wellness incentives cost a lot of money for companies, the incentives save companies money in the long term. Losses in employee productivity due to illness can be very expensive for employers; programs that help prevent health problems are cheap by comparison. For example, incentive programs have been shown to reduce the risk of diabetes and heart disease. The cost ofthe incentives given by a company to its employees to maintain their health through prevention programs is much less than the financial losses to a company caused by employees missing work due to illness and hospitalization.

The professor in the lecture casts doubt on the reading passage’s belief that giving rewards or incentives to staff to motivate them to fulfill the goals for health is effective and beneficial. The professor points out several drawbacks of this wellness program.

Firstly, the reading mentions that the incentives, especially the financial rewards, are the wisest option for people to keep fit due to the study results. However, the lecturer declares that the effects of such motivations can merely last briefly on account of another study’s report which shows that such temporary influence lose its effectiveness after a period of time. For example, they may get back to their previous lifestyle again, such as smoking or putting on their weight.

Secondly, contrary to the reading passage’s idea that rewarding people who live healthily can ensure the justice for those people since they incur medical costs less frequently , the professor states that although it is fair for these healthy employees, but it lose its equity for those who are unintentionally unhealthy because a healthy body actually relies on a myriad of factors. For instance, some people may be too busy with their families to do exercise. Also, in some cases, it is the genetic factor that results in people’s obesity.

Finally, the reading believes that the program can in turn bring back a financial report for the company due to the decrease of staff’s absence of work. The lecturer, on the other hand, contends that it is not ascertained that it can literally save money for the company in the long term because the effects will take years to be obvious, while the employees generally tend to stay in a single company for a short time, which means that they are likely to leave their job when the effects of the program are still vague. As a result, the company cannot get financial beneficial.