The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large

customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all

subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced

its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in

the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books

are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books

can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This recommendation concludes that children’s books section in Monarch Books should be replaced by a cafe in order to gain considerable profits and circumvent the competition from a combination bookstore and coffee shop named Book and Bean. To substantiate this conclusion, it provides some pieces of evidence. Nevertheless, some substantial credence must be provided to better evaluate the argument.

Based on the announcement of Book and Bean that it will open a Collegeville store, the recommendation unjustifiably implicates that Monarch Books should also open its own in-store cafe. This assumption is unconvincing without some strong proofs being offered. It is not ascertained whether Book and Bean will actually open such a store. It is entirely possible that Book and Bean abnegates the intention to open the store due to the extremely high rent. Even if the store is opened as the announcement said, will it certainly be profitable? Not exactly. Nobody can exclude the probability that it may not be as popular as expected, and the profits may be marginal if few people patronize there later. Hence, it is perfunctory to imitate Book and Bean to open a similar store without considering these possibilities.

The recommendation also mentions that the sales of children’s books are likely to decrease due that the national census data shows a dramatic decline in the percentage of children under age ten, considering turning the children’s books area into an in-store cafe as a wise choice. Obviously, it falsely equalizes the national trend with the local condition. Maybe the number of children in Collegeville has rolled on account of the policy which encourages parents to give birth to more babies. Thus opening a cafe to make profits is not necessary under this scenario. Even if the percent of children has lessened, the total sales of children’s books may not definitely diminish. In all likelihood, the sales may even raise because children may be required by their teachers and parents to buy more books to enrich their lives after school. Therefore, it is cursory to draw such a conclusion without these specific proofs being provided.

On the ground of the assumption that Book and Bean’s shop in Collegeville is extremely profitable, and also the sales of children’s books have declined sharply, the recommendation draws a partial conclusion since some indispensable factors have not been considered inclusively. The first one is that the profits is swayed by expenditure and revenue, which means that the spending of coffee machines, decoration of the cafe and the payment for barista should never be neglected. Taking all these cost into consideration, the profits may not satisfy the expectation of Monarch books. In addition, it is far-fetched to argue that it may help to evade the competition with Book and Bean by emulating it since such a change may cause the loss of its individuality, such as the reader-friendly atmosphere and various selection of books. The lack of individuality may make Monarch books fail in competition with Book and Bean, a shop which is more likely to be characteristic and well-decorated. In a sense, more specific credence should be released to better justify the conclusion.

In sum, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the recommendation must at the very least provide clear evidence mentioned previously.