Do you agree or disagree with the statement? Competition between friends usually negatively impacts

friendships.

Friend plays an essential role in our whole life, thus intimate and sincere friendships can be seen as invaluable treasure. However, under the condition where is fraught with fierce competition, it is inevitable that sometimes such competition may exist among the friends. A considerable number of people consider that the competition between friends is detrimental to maintain their friendship, while others believe that friendship will be stable and solid regardless of competition. From my perspective, I am definitely in favor of the latter statement.

Admittedly, some people may concern that with the emergence of competition between close friends, their friendship will eventually collapse. Because taking into account the numerous benefits of winning the competition, no one will selfless. What’s worse, they may even conceal the truth or deceive each other. For example, if a person is competing with his intimate friend for the sake of a promising and high-paying occupation and they are the only two candidates. Coincidentally, his friend miss the information of the time of interview, will the men tell his friend when to meet the interviewer? Not exactly. At best he may disguise the information, at worse he is likely to tell his friend a fake time. Because the absence of his rival can ensure him to gain the profession. Hence, the aforementioned reasons may account for why many people asserts that the competition may ruin the friendship.

However, although everyone is somewhat selfish, I still believe that the merits of competition between friends far outweigh its drawbacks. Actually, proper competition between friends is conducive to the improvement of their professional skills since they will spare no effort to chase each other. For instance, if a basketball player is going to compete with his friend who is also the member in the team for the only opportunity to participate in a large sports game. In order to gain this valuable opportunity, they will get fully involved and do their utmost to win the contest due to their determination to perform themselves and to fight for the collective. As a result, their professional skills as well as willpower can all be enhanced. No matter who acquire the chance, it is undeniable that both of them have achieved dramatic progress during the process of competing. Hence, no one can overlook the great improvements brought by the competition between friends.

What’s more, not only can competition enable both of the friends to improve themselves, but it can also surprisingly enhance their friendship. People who are the same competent are more willing to admire and respect each other since they have so many useful ideas and experience to share. For instance, during the process of competition, they may discover that their competitor has the same perseverance and determination as himself. In most cases, having the same willing and desire provides a great topic for discussion. As the two are both desperately seeking for the same goal, an in-depth communication is more than likely. As a result, they can learn much from each other and their friendship will be consolidated.

In sum, although some people may hold the opinion that competition will exert negative impacts on the friendship, I definitely believe that competition between friends can improve their competence and also stabilize their friendship.