The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers,

artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true

and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that the surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its elites, such as the rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people. From my perspective, the statement raises valid points by claiming that the general welfare of citizens can be representative of a great nation. However, it is too extreme to assert that a great country cannot be represented by its elites’ achievements. Actually, thees two things are not contracting, and both of them can be the indicator of a great nation.

For starters, it is ascertained that the general welfare of the citizens represents indicator of a great nation. A country with a high standard of living of people and excellent infrastructure can be regarded as a great country. For instance, as shown in Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, the physiological needs such as employment, food and shelter, as well as the psychological needs like education and enjoying life should be satisfied primarily to ensure people’s welfare. If there is widespread unsettled starvation or unemployment among the whole country, such a nation cannot be called a great nation. Also, if the majority of the juveniles have not been educated, the country is not a good country. Besides, the establishment of basic facilities can also be a sign of whether the country is great. For example, a great country with excellent people’s welfare usually has perfect medical care and well-built parks and so forth. Hence, people’s welfare can be seen as the symbol of a great country to some extent.

However, we should avoid taking the statement to the extreme. A great country can be represented by a myriad of other factors other than people’s welfare. The achievements of its elites, such as its rulers, artists or scientists can also be the indicator of a great nation. For instance, Bill Clinton, a previous president of America who implemented NAFTA, managed to promote the economic progress and bring about the abundance of the treasury, which paved the way for America to maintain the most powerful country all over the world till now. As for the artists, James Cameron, an outstanding director, can be taken as an example. He popularized three-dimensional movies, which enabled people to uplift visual enjoyment. When we refer to the scientists, Yuan Longping, an eminent scientist in China, can never be neglected. He produced hybrid rice, which dramatically eradicated the starvation and famine in the impoverished countries. All of the aforementioned elites can undeniably represent the indicator of a great nation.

Overall, the statement is valid for asserting that the great nation can be represented by people’s welfare, while it is also too extreme to claim that the surest indicator cannot be its elites’ achievements. Actually, we do not need to make thees two things opposing. On the contrary, these elites’ achievements, such as scientific innovation and social stability, can ensure people’s welfare. Also, the elites consistently occur in the promise of people’s welfare, such as basic survival and liberty of speech.