Some people believe it is often necessary, even

desirable, for political leaders to withhold information

from the public. Others believe that the public has a

right to be fully informed.Write a response in which you discuss which view

more closely aligns with your own position and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, you should

address both of the views presented.

Under this context, the speaker offers two opposing viewpoints. The former one claims that it is often necessary or even desirable for political leaders to withhold information from the public, while the latter one asserts that the public should be informed of the information. In my point of view, it should be discussed case by case. In some cases, the former one raises valid points, while under other scenarios, the latter one will be more persuasive.

For starters, some kind of information should not be transparent to the mass. The first reason is that common people may not have professional knowledge about such information so that they will not offer any help, which means that it is unnecessary to tell them such information. For instance, the information about cutting edge tech and the bottom line of negotiation is belong to this kind of information. Besides, the information concerning some confidentiality should be withheld from the public since it will be inimical to the whole country once it is divulged. For example, the military deployment and confidentiality as well as the information concerning the national defense should not inform the public in case of the damages its revelation may bring to the country.

However, it does not mean that all information should be secret to the mass. Some information regarding the livelihood issue should always be transparent to the public. Otherwise, it may engender some panic and be harmful to the well-being of the citizens. For instance, several years ago, a milk powder enterprise named SanLu was covered that the milk powder it sold was poisonous. Its sensational and notorious behavior ravaged many babies’ lives. If this lucid information has been withheld to the public, the business may escape the punishment of the laws and may threaten more babies’ lives. Eventually, this issue propelled the reform of formula industry in the whole country. And the issue of SARS can also be taken as an example. The outbreak of SARS in southern China resulted in an eventual 8098 cases. To avoid panic of the masses, Chinese government choose to disguise it. However, this behavior failed to assuage the pubic. On the contrast, it engendered a wide-spearing panic among the mass due to the unknown impacts of this virus. From the two aforementioned cases, we can conclude that the government has the obligation to publish some kinds of information concerning the living issues to the citizens for the sake of better lives.

To sum up, the information regarding some confidentiality should be withheld by the government, while the ones about living issues should always be transparent to the public.