In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no

longer possible for a society to regard any living man

or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to

which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, you should

consider ways in which the statement might or might

not hold true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

The speaker asserts that it is no longer probable for a society to consider any living man or woman as a hero in this age of intensive media coverage. In my point of view, this statement is right to some extend but it is too extreme. Media coverage can destroy heroes while it can create heroes as well.

Media can destroy hero’s contribution and reputation in some cases. In light of media’s nature for capturing as much audience as possible, it always discloses celebrities’ surprising misbehavior to catch our eyes. For instance, Bill Clinton, the one who imposed NAFTA which brought considerable profits for America, had been one of the most respectful heroes until he was exposed the scandal of marital indiscretion with Monica Lewinsky. Since then his reputation and prestige fell into a freezing point on account of the deep disappointment from the public. What’s worse, sometimes media may exaggerate the truth or even exposure fake news to attract viewers for the sake of dramatic profits. Michael Jackson can be taken as an example of this condition. As a top icon in his age, the citizens regarded him as hero until he was exposed of bleaching and plastic surgery, which horribly damaged his image and engendered a wide-range boycott to him.

However, media can create heroes as well. It extends definition for hero under certain circumstances where ordinary people can also become heroes. For example, a TV programme named Touching China covers ten CNN heroes who are entirely ordinary people annually. The most impressed one is a teacher named Li Ping who was exposed by the programme in 2015 for her selflessness. She saved her ten students’ lives by pushing away them when facing an overspeed car. Unfortunately, she lost her legs for a lifelong time. Without the coverage of media, her heroic exploit is unlikely to be widely known by the mass. Tu Youyou, the one who discovered artemisinin to treat malaria after years of assiduous research, was also reported by the media for that she became the laureate of the Nobel Prize in the field of physiology in 2015, which made her become a well-known hero.

In conclusion, it is true that media can destroy heroes in some ways, but the statement is too extreme since it overlooks the fact that media exposure can also create heroes. In other words, the heroes do exist despite such intensive media coverage.