Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

The political leaders play a vital role in society. They are the ones who lead the society and set an example for the rest. They have such powers that they can dispense information regarding pressing issues at their discretion or not. In a few cases, information can be kept secret for the sake of the whole. However, in a majority of cases, politicians should be obliged to disclose information to the public.

Granted, in some cases, political leaders cannot help but withhold information from the public for the benefit of the citizens. One of such cases is that it is inevitable for political leaders to mask certain details about the proceeding of their strategic plans. Take an example of Osama Bin Laden, who had been one of the pioneers of Al-Qaeda, which had initiated the September 11 terrorist attacks. Since the terrible attacks that took away so many innocent lives, he had been hiding from the U.S. government. Progress in capturing bin Laden may have been hampered and plans may not have gone well accordingly if the government had disclosed information about his whereabouts or the ways it had employed to capture him. By hiding such details from the public, the United States was able to arrest him and his followers so that citizens would not be at further risk. Thus, withholding information can prove desirable in a few circumstances.

Regardless of the previous case, political leaders need to reveal information because the public has a right to be fully informed, particularly when it comes to health issues. For example, in 2003, SARS which is a respiratory disease in humans outbroke in China. The epidemic of SARS appears to have started in Guangdong Province, China. It has been remembered as one example of government and the relevant authority’s failures to take appropriate measures to prevent the disease from spreading out, and thus yield a disastrous result to take a toll on many lives. The Chinese government purposely did not inform the World Health Organization of the outbreak until the extent of patients contracting the disease went so enormous that the officials could not hide it. This lack of openness caused delays in efforts to control the epidemic in time, thus resulting in SARS spreading from the Guangdong province to rapidly infect individuals in some 37 countries around the world. When people’s lives are at stake, even a small piece of information should be disclosed to the public.

In summary, it is essential for political leaders to disclose information to the public since citizens have the right to know. Some may argue that a certain type of information needs to be kept secretly. Even though there exists some cases obviously that it might apply to, divulging information is one of the prioritized tasks political leaders should assume for the public to be fully informed.