Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food

and other health-related products, is opening its next

franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should

prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises

tend to be most profitable in areas where residents

lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an

area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of

running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time

highs. The local health club has more members than

ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes

are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren

represent a new generation of potential customers:

these schoolchildren are required to participate in afitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the

benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated

and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be

sure to explain how the argument depends on these

assumptions and what the implications are for the

argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author predicts that the Nature’s Way store that is opening in the town of Plainsville should prove to be very successful. This prediction is mainly based on the assumption that the residents of Plainsville lead healthy lives due to the numerous sales of running shoes and exercise clothing which are reported by the Plainsville merchants and the popularity of local health club and various training classes. However, the author should evaluate the assumptions to establish the argument strongly.

The author mentions that the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs as the Plainsville merchants report and hastily infers that the local people certainly lead healthy lives. Apparently, behind the inference lies the assumption that the high sales of exercise shoes and clothing represent the healthy lives of local people, which should be assessed carefully. It is entirely possible that people buy those sport suits merely because they generally have poor health conditions so that they want to live healthy lives. While in fact, they will not persist on exercising on account of their laziness or bustling works. Besides, there do exist another possibility that people buy these sport clothing and shoes just for the sake of the appealing and fashionable appearances of these clothes, or they buy the clothes because they feel comfortable when in this kind of clothes rather than they actually lead healthy lives. Therefore, without further evidence to rule out the above possibilities, the author cannot firmly infer that the residents of Plainsville must live healthy lives.

The author also assumes that residents in Plainsville lead healthy lives simply due that the local health club has more members than ever, and some fitness classes are always full. Whereas an indisputable fact is that the author naïvely equalizes the popularity of fitness club with healthy lifestyles of residents. How many members do the health clubs actually have? Without exact data being given, it is far-fetched for the author to persuade me that the majority of residents live healthy lives. In addition, it is entirely possible that people attend various fitness classes just because they live unhealthily in daily lives, such as eating too much junk food or sleeping at midnight. What’s worse, they may have never been to the club after they paid for the membership. Hence, under such scenarios, the assumption is tenuous.

On the basis that people in Plainsville live healthy lives and Nature’s Way franchises tend to be profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, it is still cursory to conclude that opening the Nature’s Way store in the town of Plainsville must be successful. In an unlikely scenario where the actual conditions of Plainsville are all the same as the ones in other cities where the residents live healthily, the conclusion may be justify. Unfortunately, it is quite possible that people in other cities mainly focus on the healthy diet and adequate exercise while in Plainsville, people pay most attention to the regular exercise but don’t care about the healthy diet, which means that the Nature’s Way, a chain of store mainly selling health food, will not be popular and profitable in Plainsville. Additionally, maybe people in Plainsville don’t earn a lot of money, so they do not have much to spend. Consequently, the Nature’s Way store in Plainsville may not gain dramatic profits as expected. Without evidence regarding whether there are obvious discrepancies of the life style and economy condition between people in Plainsville and other cities where residents also live healthily being offered, the conclusion is vulnerable to counterarguments.

Overall, the author needs to take into consideration all aforementioned possibilities and supplement a series of unsupported assumptions before she can legitimately draw the conclusion.