The following memorandum is from the business

manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in

Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the

southwestern United States. This change, however,

has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only

about 2 percent of customers have complained,

indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are

happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers

have reported that a number of customers who ask

for butter do not complain when they are given

margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do

not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the

term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more

alternative explanations that could rival the proposed

explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can

plausibly account for the facts presented in the

argument.

The author concludes that Happy Pancake House restaurants’ decision to replace butter by margarine has had nearly no impacts on their customers. This conclusion is mainly based on the fact that only about 2 percent of customers have complained about this change and the report from the servers which mentioning that many customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. However, alternative possibilities are not fully addressed, rendering this theory open to doubt.

The author mentions that there are merely 2 percent of customers have complained about the margarine and infers that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Apparently, behind the inference lies the assumptions that the data ’2 percent’ means that there are only a few people complaining and the dishes ordered by the customers generally use butter or margarine as original material. Nevertheless, alternative explanations could challenge this interpretation. It is entirely possible that this 2 percent of customers may have a deep and wide impact because the customer base number may be several millions. Therefore, the 2 percent of customers may be tens of thousands people. Even though this 2 percent of customers are only dozens of people, it is hasty to infer that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. It is possible that the majority of the dishes in the shop do not contain butter or margarine, which may engender that the proportion of complaints regarding the food including margarine is much higher than expected since these complaints are all about the several dishes containing margarine. Consequently, most people who actually ordered the food with margarine may not be satisfied with the change. Without the exact data according to the number of complaints and the attitudes of people who really order the dishes with margarine being given, the interpretation does not hold water.

The author also reveals the report by the servers that many customers who ask for butter do not complain when given margarine instead and abruptly argues that either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term ‘butter’ to mean either butter or margarine. Clearly, the author acquiesces that the report from servers is reliable and representative. However, perhaps the servers do not tell the truth and conceal the fact due that they are afraid of being condemned or they want to defend the interests of the restaurant. It is also probable that the customers have complained to the managers rather than the servers. Hence, the argument mentioned at the beginning of this paragraph is unconvincing because the report may not be reliable and representative without these possibilities being eliminated.

On the basis that there are actually a few people complaining about the margarine and the report as well as the argument mentioned before is also reliable, it is still far-fetched to conclude that there is little effect on the customers when the butter is replaced by the margarine without considering the alternative explanations. Never can we neglect the possibility that the customers do not complain just because they are too polite to grumble rather than being satisfied. It is also probable that they may consider the complaint as something troublesome, so they are reluctant to complain but they will never come to this restaurant for a second time. Hence, this change may be dramatically influential. Under the aforementioned scenarios, the conclusion is tenuous.

Overall, although the proposed explanations might justify the conclusion, the author should check some alternative explanations to challenge the proposed explanations. More considerations might be recommended to bolster the argument and the conclusion.