In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of

view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true

and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that the progress makes demand on discussion among people who have contrasting opinions in any situation. From my perspective, it is true that sometimes such discussion can be conducive to the progress, while it is too extreme to claim that it can hold for any situation.

For starters, we shall admit that the discussion among people holding contrasting points of views can propel the progress in some cases. It can make the opposing parties to compromise and ultimately acquire the consensus. For instance, during the UN Climate Change Conference in 2015, the representatives of developed countries took issue with the ones of developing countries with regard to the problem who should take responsibility for the increasing global temperature. The ones of the developed countries condemned the developing countries for their excessive exploitation, which contributed to the global warming, while the speakers of developing countries complained that the climbing temperature should be attributed to the industrialization which was accomplished by the developed ones in the last century. As a result, these two opposing parties had a thorough discussion, which engendered the Paris Agreement, requiring all the countries should cooperate to limit the increase of temperature within 2.7 centigrade before 2100. We can see from the example that sometimes the discussion is useful to mediate the opposing opinions and promote the progress.

However, we should avoid taking the statement to the extreme. In many cases, such a discussion is unlikely for us to gain progress. Instead, it may distort the truths or make us harvest nothing eventually. For example, Darwin, a person who offered the theory of evolution, once contracted with those who believed that species were created by the mysterious God. Apparently, Darwin did not believe so and he insisted on his own opinion that species all evolved by natural selection from simple and preliminary conditions. Eventually, his idea was accepted after a long period of boycott from the members of the religious community who were outraged and protested, which dramatically changed our perception of the world. Besides, if the issue is uncompromising, such as the one between plaintiff and defendant, the discussion is of no sense, and it needs the judge’s impartial adjudication. Hence, the two aforementioned examples both show that sometimes the discussion cannot tackle the issue regarding uncompromising opinions and be useless to the progress.

What’s more, a myriad of methods other than the discussion can also help to gain the progress. The dedication and cooperation both can promote the progress. For instance, Madame Curie, an outstanding chemist who was the laureate of the Nobel Prize, managed to refine the radium successfully after a long-time dedication to experiments. Another laureate of the Nobel Prize, Tu Youyou, discovered arteminisin to treat the malaria by cooperation with other members in the laboratory. The achievements of them prove that the progress can be gained by a lot of other ways rather than merely discussion.

Overall, the statement raises valid points to some extent, while it is too extreme.