51. The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have com

In the memorandum from the business manager, it is stated that Southeast and Northeast restaurant should replace butter with margarine in order to increase profit and avoid wasting money on purchase of butter. This conclusion is based on the fact that customers in Southwestern region accepted the change without complains from most customers. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, is the claim that only about 2 percent of the customers complain substantiated? The hundred customers reported by the argument may not be a true representative of the total customers that patronize the restaurants. For example, the hundred may be a representative of those who only visited at a particular time of the day (morning), when customers are eager to leave for work, whereas customers that come to the restaurant during the afternoon and evening are not taken into cognizance. Also, if the author’s argument is based on only a single restaurant in the Southwest region whereas there are about fifty restaurants in the region, the claim would lack adequate support. The author would need a standardized survey to be taken with a bigger sample of the customers to ascertain that they are not complains from other customers other than the two percent presented in the argument.

Secondly, are Southwestern and Southeast or Northeast comparable? In other words, can circumstances from one region be used to make generalizations and predictions about the other? It is possible that Southwestern and Southeast or Northeast are not similar at all- perhaps in the Southeast and Northeast region the cost of butter is relatively cheap as opposed to margarine. Therefore, substituting margarine for butter may not be cost effective as the author of the argument claims. If this scenario holds water, then the original argument is significantly weakened.

Lastly, do customers whose order was changed from margarine to butter satisfied? The manager assumes that customers whose order was changed were contented with the choice they were presented with. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps, the customers determined not to return to the restaurant and see no reason to complain since that would be their last time there. If the above is true, the claim that the customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine lacks adequate support.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to the provide answers to the questions above and offer more evidence by documenting its most important premise with standardized data, then it will be possible to recommend that butter should substitute margarine in Southeast and Northeast region.