Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor pla

In the memo from the vice president of a company, it stated that Alpha Construction Company should be used for its new building work instead of Zeta. The recommendation is based on the premise that Zeta is more expensive than Alpha in cost and maintenance. However, this argument is based on three unwarranted assumptions that if not hampers its effectiveness.

First of all, the author of the argument assumes that what obtained ten years ago still exists today. It is possible that there is a change at present, perhaps Zeta has reduced its costs for construction of building which might be cheaper than Alpha, and it is also possible that Zeta has found alternative energy form which is cost effective as opposed to what holds ten years ago and the cheap. Furthermore, it is possible that Alpha construction Company has revised their budget for building and is now more expensive than it was in the last decade. If either of this is the case, the conclusion that Alpha should be used other than Zeta does not hold water and should be dismissed.

Secondly, the author of the argument assumes that regions in which the new buildings were constructed were similar in terms of building materials cost. However, this might not be the case, the cost of building in each region might differ. For instance, the cost of building and maintenance may be high in the region where Zeta worked if the cost of materials such as wood, cement, sand etc. were high. It is also possible that Zeta could not reduce the cost of their constructing and maintenance because the region does not allow Constructors of building to get materials outside the region. If any of these holds water, then choosing Alpha over Zeta should be dismissed.

Lastly, the author assumes that the same number of people work in both Companies that Zeta and Alpha Constructed ten years ago. The companies may have the same plans and structure with regards to its construction, yet the number of employee might differ. For example, there is a potential that Zeta building had more employees which accounted for the higher energy consumption as opposed to Alpha building. It is also possible that the equipment used in Zeta building are more energy consuming than those found in Alpha building. If this is true, recommending Alpha might not be justifiable.

In conclusion,even though it is possible that using Alpha is more cost effective than Zeta. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that renders its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide more data by conducting a research at the moment to know which company would be best fit for their construction plan.