1. In 1992, many farmers in Jalikistan began using a hormone designed to produce larger cows that would produce more milk. Since then, childhood obesity in Jalikistan has grown by 200 percent. The amount of milk and dairy consumed by children in this area

The use of hormone in cows by farmers in Jalikistan has drastically risen for the past twenty seven years, this has resulted in larger cows and more milk production. This hormone according to the argument is responsible for the increase in childhood obesity. This argument is however only based on assumptions with no substantial proofs because other factors that could account for obesity were not taken into consideration.

Firstly, no previous trend of obesity rate in the area was provided, perhaps there was already a rise in childhood obesity before the introduction of the hormone. There is no way to tell the rise in obesity trend in the community, the author only provided an increase rate which makes the conclusion faulty.

Furthermore, no information is provided on other possible factors (genetic factors, lack of physical activity, unhealthy eating patterns or a combination of these factors) that could account for obesity other than the intake of milk. Since there was no change in the amount of milk consumed, it difficult to tell that cow milk was responsible for the increase of obesity most times would not arise due to intake of just a single source of food.

The claim that children who are lactose intolerant who drink almond or soy milk do not have the same increase in obesity is unsubstantiated. Although almond and soy milk do not contain as much calories as cow milk, it does not follow, however, that this is why they do not have the same increase in obesity because other food intake taken by lactose intolerant children was not given consideration. Also, the argument does not take into account the increase rate in obesity of children who did not take cow milk because it is possible that lactose intolerant children also had an increase in obesity rate but not the same as those who were lactose tolerant.

Despite the flaws in this arguments, the author may be correct by strengthening the argument by documenting its important premise with data. If, for example, data was provided for obesity trends before the introduction of hormone, other factors other than hormones was accounted for and data for lactose intolerant children was provided. Were this is the case, hormone introduction might be justified.