1. In 1992, many farmers in Jalikistan began using a hormone designed to produce larger cows that would produce more milk. Since then, childhood obesity in Jalikistan has grown by 200 percent. The amount of milk and dairy consumed by children in this area has not increased or decreased. Children in the same area who are lactose intolerant, and who drink almond milk or soy milk, have not had the same increase in childhood obesity. The only clear explanation is that the introduction of the hormone is responsible for the increase in childhood obesity in that area.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more viable alternatives to the proposed explanation. Justify, with support, why the alternatives could rival the proposed explanation and explain how those explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Childhood obesity in Jalikstan has exploded in the past two decades. This shift began around the same time that farmers in Jalikstan began using a hormone to make their cows more productive. However, the author of this argument argues that the introduction of the hormone into the cow population is the direct and only cause of the increase of childhood obesity. Though it is possible that this hormone has played a role in increasing childhood obesity, this argument does not take into account other factors; nor does this writer produce coherent evidence for the claims it makes regarding lactose intolerant children in the area.

First of all, the writer does not divulge the source of his knowledge regarding the dairy consumption in this area. Possibly he has looked at the rate of dairy purchases by households with young children or has polled parents to see how much their children consume, but both of these methods would be flawed; the data collected could be inaccurate, or parents could be dishonest for a number of reasons. The writer also does not say how long he has been collecting information for. Nor does he explain how he has eliminated other possible factors, like a rise in carbohydrate- or sugar-heavy snacks, or if the sizes of school lunches have changed.

Furthermore, the author does not give any evidence proving his claim that lactose intolerant children have not had such rates of obesity. Is it not possible that these children have more limited diets overall and therefore have fewer calories on average every day? Almond and soy milk often have fewer calories than whole milk; this is just one of many ways in which being lactose intolerant could reduce one’s daily calorie count.

The language used in this argument is particularly vague. The writer is unclear about what he means when he refers “children in the same area” who are lactose intolerant and have not suffered from obesity. The area he refers to could be one square mile or fifty. He also weakens his own argument by failing to show that the timing of increased childhood obesity coincided exactly with the hormone. He links a general trend to a specific occurrence, but he should remember that correlation does not equal causation.

While the idea that this growth hormone caused childhood obesity is worthy of exploration, this author needs to broaden his argument. Though it is tempting to choose one perpetrator of an issue like childhood obesity, the author should try to understand that the health issues of a large population likely will have a spectrum of causes, and the introduction of this growth hormone was probably part of a wave through the meat industry that deserves critique in its own right.