"A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer."

Disparities in school curriculums can cause disparities in the quality of the teaching. I know that my high school, for one, offered no philosophy classes, which made me envy my friends who went to high schools that did. On the other hand, my high school offered a wide variety of English courses, such as a class on the Romantic poets and a class on Gothic horror, that other schools did not. My experience and the experience of many students show the flaws of an educational system that allows for such a variety in curriculums across America, but the solution to this would not lie in a hegemonic national curriculum. This could only discourage creativity and advancement for the students, and could have a negative impact on the ability of students to questions the narrative set forward for them.

A national curriculum would be disadvantageous to teachers, and through them disadvantageous to the students. If the curriculum were set by the government, it would disallow teachers to propose their own classes to the school and limit their ability to teach to their strengths. Many teachers being forced to teach one way would certainly feel constrained or unenthusiastic, and this could lead to a dip in educational quality.

Furthermore, a national curriculum would not go unnoticed by the students, and those able to push ahead of their peers in some subjects would be immobilized. If there is no way to move up to a higher level in her classes, a student may not feel the need to work as hard as she can. For instance, many students in my own year would not have worked as hard in the eighth grade had there been no Advanced Placement courses to get into for the next year; these students and I felt we had to demonstrate our worth to colleges by being in these classes. A blanket national curriculum could lead to the students with the most potential to come into college less prepared than they may have been without it.

Lastly, a national curriculum would create one narrative to be taught nationally. In America, a national curriculum could have some benefit in that way; it could, for instance, stomp out the way creationism is still taught in some southern schools. However, one curriculum would require that all things would be taught one way, and nothing taught could be questioned. When I was in elementary school, we were taught that Columbus discovered America and that the Pilgrims were peaceful colonists. In high school I had teachers who were willing to disabuse their students of these notions. With a national curriculum, only one perspective would be presented, and it would be adhered to. This could erode the critical skills of future generations.

A national curriculum would certainly have some benefits. It is wrong that some people - more often than not, the economically disadvantaged - suffer from poorer standards of education across America. However, a national curriculum promotes uniformity that could staunch advancement.