The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Most would agree that the study of history is crucial to human survival and development. In order to prepare for its future and deal with issues in the present, a society must look toward its past. The study of history also goes beyond the past of any one society and examines ancient civilizations in order to obtain a better grasp on how humans have arrived at the point we find ourselves at now. However, the study of history’s most important work is how it forces the human race to align itself from its past instead of severing or alienating itself; by admitting that humans have not changed so dramatically, humans are better able to imagine what a future society would look like and what we would want it to look like. By examining history, people build an intimate relationship with the people of the past, which in turn heightens empathy between peoples.

One crucial similarity between previous societies and our own is the belief that we live in end times. For example, medieval Christians often felt that they were on the brink of beholding the second coming of Christ. One sentiment that often sweeps through social media in the United States is that we, too, live in end-times. Though this belief is now more strongly supported by evidence of climate change, by looking back on societies that have thought similar things about their generations being the last, those in the present are able to remind themselves that what looks like the end often is not so, and each generation has a responsibility to the future generations, even when the immediate future looks grim. By studying history, modern people can also remind themselves that many conditions are not getting worse; for instance, people of color, in particular black Americans, have more rights in the U.S. than ever before. Health care has never been so advanced as it is now. Of course, people of color still struggle for equalities, and many Americans do not have access to good health care, but one who looks at history must admit that things have gotten better, even if the pace has been too slow.

Additionally, the study of history also humanizes earlier peoples, allowing those alive in the present to empathize more thoroughly with them and, in turn, each other. For example, when the body of an Incan girl was found mummified and frozen in the mountains of Argentina with her clothing and body almost perfectly preserved, thousands turned up to view her in a museum, feeling connected to the past in a way that had been impossible. Fragments of ancient graffiti found scrawled on the buildings of Ancient Rome surprise people with their humor and vulgarity. By remembering that bodily humor did not spring up in the late 20th century, many people of younger generations feel themselves woven into a general human narrative in a way they have not felt before.

Finally, the study of history can be used to dispel potentially racist and harmful stereotypes about past civilizations; for instance, European history often attempts to overshadow or obscure the advancement of societies of the Aztecs, for example, or the Egyptians. Historians refute that and, in doing so, reject the notion that these societies of black and brown people were inferior to and different from modern Western society. This is significant because it promotes notions of equality in the modern era as well and reminds us of the humanity of those previous civilizations.