Topic:

"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advising director of the Super Screen Movie production Company concludes that the company's advertising budget needs to be pumped up based off the fact that, despite an increase in positive reviews, fewer people attended movies produced by Super Screen. However, her argument is flawed; though it is possible that advertising could help increase attendance, she is unwise to decide that the low attendance is entirely due to a lack of awareness.

The first issue with the director's argument comes from her lack of specificity about the reviews for the company's movies. She does not say who reviewed the movies this year or in past years. She does not say how many people reviewed them or if the reviewers changed. It is possible, then, that widely-read publications stopped reviewing these articles. Perhaps the ratings went up, but if movies in previous years were reviewed in the New York Times and movies this year are reviewed only on blogs, the tone of the reviews would not matter.

She also ignores any other potential factors that could lead to a slip in viewership. In recent years services like Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon Prime have rendered the movie theater experience almost arcane. Perhaps these websites have been pulling down Super Screen's attendance; after all, theaters across the country and across the world have folded under the pressure of high-quality movies available for streaming. Maybe the Super Screen movies this year starred fewer famous actors than in previous years. Maybe last year they produced a big-budget action movie and have only produced nature documentaries this year. The advertising director does not specify any such things that could lead to a dip in views, and her lack of specificity weakens her argument.

Finally, the director does not specifically quote any reviews from this year or past years to give a sense of the movies' quality. Perhaps this year has seen an increase in positive reviews, but the reviews in past years could have been very bad. If that is the case, and if this year saw more neutral reviews than bad ones, then the company should continue to focus its energy on the quality of the movies it produces.

The vagueness of language in this memo is the biggest flaw with the director's argument. She should provide specific examples of how positive the reviews have been, and she should consider why specific movies from these years may have done well or flopped. Saying that the movies are "good quality" based on an increase in positive reviews means nothing if we do not consider who wrote those reviews. She blames the public's lack of awareness but does not consider the possibility that those who are aware of these movies still may choose not to go for a variety of reasons.

None of these points preclude poor advertising as a factor in the low attendance the company saw this year. However, neither do they prove that the advertising budget needs to be increased. The advertising director should examine the company's roster of movies and the sources of the reviews, then readjust accordingly.