In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How the general society received the modernists architecture projects back in the sixties? It was accepted by most people? It was understandable to most people? Probably it was not. The author states that in order to have merit, any work of art must be understandable to most people. But actually, when we deal with vanguard art, almost by definition we affirm that it will not be understandable by the majority and in the following two paragraphs we sustain that point presenting historic examples.

To begin, consider the modernist architecture movement that took place after the Bauhaus creation in Germany in the 1930’s. It was a truly vanguardist way of thinking and presenting architecture and design. The movement arrived in Brazil in the 1940’s when some artists and intellectuals, running away from the Second World War, moved to the country and began to work and stimulate the progress of those ideas. For instance, in São Paulo downtown, we can still see the traces of those architects in the streets, houses, office and residential buildings. Today the society understands the importance of those days and give a lot of credit for this kind of art, but back in the sixties and seventies it was not like this. Consequently, many famous European architects arrived in Brazil being no one and had hard times to survive until they could be known. The above example illustrates that art is truly not just a contemporary phenomenon. It is alive, vibrant and dynamic.

Further, we could base our line or argumentation on the cubist expression also. This was another vanguard artistic movement not fully accepted at its time. Consider the work of Pablo Picasso, for instance. Les Demoiselles d’Avignon, Guernica or even the artist’s famous portraits where not consider art by most art critics at his time. Today his work has an enormous and inestimable value as expression of those times, as part of the history of occidental art. Moreover, research has consistently demonstrated that even if one cannot truly understand some piece of art, this experience activates some part of human brain so we cannot give merit only to what he or she believe to understand.

I can concede that what the author has presented could be at first sight true since the main reason for which art exists is do be a way of communication and expression. Thus, if one part (the public) does not understand the message, does art make any sense at all? However, it is important to but things in a historic perspective. We have to accept that time and history are dynamic and our societies are not immutable. A work of vanguard art today might be understandable and appreciate by future generations only. Therefore, art sometimes is just art. Arts for the arts. Expression for expression itself.