In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The art is nothing but the “expression of one’s feelings”. This statement has validity not only for the poets, sand artists, lyricists but also true for the painters, sculptures as well. The topic raises an issue whether any art form would be beneficial if it is lucid for the majority people. Although artists are willing to express their views in an articulate matter . However not all non-artists are able to imbibe their meaning. So I strongly agree that the artifacts should be such that most people can understand.

From the archaic times, the human has started to build various sign languages to express their views. If today, you see in old temples there are scrulptures which have the figures whith which the common people can easily relate. They have pictures of god, goddesses, animals etc. and so people easily connect with them. The main purpose of the art form is not only to show feelings but also disseminate the knowledge to the every individual who comes in contact with let’s say particular film. Let us take an example of the patriotic songs which were famous during the independence time like “Ae mere Vatan k logo”. They were famous because common man could grasp the inspiration and sense a feeling of patriotism when they listened to it. In the older days, movies were actually made to depict the social issues and spread awareness among the common people. The writings published in news papers and novels also engendered the great social and economical revolutions and galvanized people to fight for their rights, they were inflammatory letters and writings that were published in local news papers during the Independence time that gave people the strength and motivation to fight for the freedom. So it is required that the people for whom it is written, they should gain the knoiwledge from it and the purpose should suffice.

Furthermore, if the arts are prepared in such a way that people don’t understand it, people will get disinclined to them. Only the people who can understand these esoteric piece of art would go and buy the book and read it. If this is the case, then the artists would have less popularity and they would earn pittance. They won’t be able to reach the hearts of the people and that artist will be in economic crisis and eventually he won’t be able to publish his works due to dearth of money.

At the other hand, some people are fond of convoluted plots and wordings. At the same time, if all the art forms are simple then the artists would not have any chance of touting their knowledge. Like some great painters like Picasso made a simple yet mysterious painting “Monalisa” which is famous due to its complexity and mysterious nature. He has embellished his painting skills in that. Great poets like Rabindranath tagore has delineated the simple stories by use of difficult language still they are famous. However this doesn’t give a sufficient evidence to assert the claim that they shouldn’t write in a way that most people can understand.

In conclusion, it is true that the great artisan skills depicted by some great artists is quite well-known but in order to gain social and economical revolution, it should be written in understandble languages.