In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Puzzled by the abstraction of Vincent Von Goph's Starry Night, we are still enamored with the milieu created by the great artist. While felt difficult to catch up the arcane structure and complex rhetoric of great poems, we have to concede that they vividly move us from the deep heart. Even if the author presents the significance of lucidity of artworks, I still appreciate the abstruseness and complication of great art, because the great artworks consist of both the adept and complicated art skills of creators and the emotional element inherited from the unique life experience of their creators. All of those contribute to the essential merit of artworks.

To start off, I have to admit that lucidity, as an important prosperity to make closer distance between artists and audiences, owns its unique roles in the art history. Such examples abound in the history. A case in point is Tang poetry in Chinese history. During Tang Dynasty, all of great poets tried their best to reject the complex traditional bridle for poem and make their outgrowth understandable for the public. Juyin Bai, one of the great poets at that time, even managed to revise his poem to make people with little literacy understand. Such effort really help their works catch, accept and spread by majority of people.

However, if we blindly apply simplicity for all of products of the arts, it could be a harmful and even dangerous direction for both the art field and the public. As mentioned before, as the great dissemination advantage of lucidity, a mass of companies nowadays tried to catch up with the popular trend for their profits. Thus, once one artwork become popular in market, they would recklessly duplicate such work pattern with their least effort for the sake of selling their similar products as soon as possible. Does such approach help them win profit? Probably yes. Does such strategy give their product abiding value? Perhaps no. The real artwork should have its unique and inherit merit, which could not be easily cloned by others.

Granted that intelligibility is a goal for some specific artwork, majority of the great artworks still stay alienated from the public, as its essential merits inevitably stem from abstruseness and complexity. Normally, the essential merit of artwork is composed with the dexterous skills from one specific field and the artist's unique life experience. The technical skills would shape the artwork, but unfortunately keep them away from non-experts in such fields. In the meanwhile, as everyone has its own unique life track and experience, the creators' experience might be quite different from the public. Therefore, both of them make great artwork alienate from the audience. Vincent Von Goph's Starry Night, famous for its abstraction properties of surrealism, actually reflect the suffering fate of its creator in the isolated environment. Thus, people who don't have any concept of abstraction art could definitely fall into lost; in the meanwhile, people seldom have the similar fate as Von's life experience, so the suffering and pains conveyed by the artwork are naturally far away from us. However, none could decline it as great artwork.

In summary, while lucidity could make our artwork spread to wider scope, we should not simply pursue with such simple goal and ignore the real value source of artwork. In stead of demanding all artworks to convert into a unique intelligible pattern, the real approach for us might be to enhance our aesthetic understanding and make our best endeavor to touch on even go inside the world of art.