The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this passage, the author recommends launching a education program for reducing of bicycle accidents, because such suggestion would better function than wearing helmets. To support his/her claim, the author cites statistics about people who wear helmets and accidental rate related with bicycle. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exists several questions regarding his/her line of reasoning that requires further analysis. Thus, the author's recommendation could become either tenable or groundless, depending on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on whether people taking helmet actually increase drastically, a question that is not yet answered. It is likely that the absolute number of wearing helmets are still limited, because we are uncertain about exactly number of bicyclists for the past and nowadays. Without additional information to evaluate such basic information, it is of equal probability that total number of bicyclists for today and the past are under the same low level. Such phenomenon could seriously challenge the viewpoint that more bicyclists wear helmets and render his/her claim much less advisable. On the contrary, any valid proof that there more much more number of bicyclists today than the past could strengthen his/her viewpoint.

Granted that total number of bicyclists increase significantly and given the fact of increasing percentage of bicycle accidents, whether wearing helmet lead to such phenomenon needs a second look. Behind the author's reasoning lie two critical implications. The first implication is that the number accidents of bicycles are already at a tremendous level and the increasing 200 percentage of accidents means a too serious situation. The probability that such accidents actually happened infrequently should be considered and addressed. Yet, if the author could unambiguously proves that bicycle accidents are already reaching the degree of reaching higher level in history, his/her viewpoint will gain more weights.

Furthermore, the second implication is that major reason of those collected accidents is attributed to bicyclists. While such reasoning seems tenable, the probability that other factors might trigger the aforementioned incidents could not be excluded in advance. For example, such accidents are actually caused by the careless car drivers or pupils who traverse street blindly. Thus, we have no clues whether drivers or other subjects should take responsibility of majority of incidents. If no, bicyclists wearing helmets is unlikely to the root cause of such accidents and therefore we should focus on educating them for declining accident number. Otherwise, dedication of more effort in the hope for less accidents could be expected.

Last but not least, while we can admit for a moment that people who wear helmets drive adventurously might trigger more accidents mentioned above, it remains to be seen whether a education program could work much better than wearing helmet nowadays. Other factors, such as the attitude of trainee for such education, side effect after removal of helmet, could seriously impact the result of such suggestion. If majority of bicyclists are illiterate that can't receive sufficient training to avoid accidents, or people might suffer more hurts and give rise to accident after absolving with safeguard of helmets, this is doubtful that such advice could work much better than current protection under helmets.

In summary, while wearing helmet might lead to carelessness of people during driving and increasing accidental rates, this is a conclusion that we can not derive from the information available in the argument. Furthermore, even if it is, whether we should resort to a education program for further reduction of bicycle accidents is still built upon implications, which are open to different probabilities. Only after the aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we effectively evaluate such recommendation and reach a logically sound conclusion.