The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this passage, the author recommends a prohibition for skateboarding for the sake of saving business in Central Plaza. To support his/her claim, the author cites the coincidence between decrease of shopper number and the increasing popularity of skateboarding. Furthermore, majority of the store owners in Central Plaza also ascribes their business decline to the skateboard users. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exists several questions regarding his/her lines of reasoning that requires further analysis. Therefore, the author's conclusion could end up being pretty compelling or invalid in the end, depending on the answers to these questions.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on the supposed causal relationship between shopper decline and increase of skateboarding in Central Plaza, a question that is not yet answered. However, it is likely that shopper's decline have little to do with skateboarding activity, because shoppers might have their own shipping habits or budget for purchase, which is total discoupled with skateboarding activity in the city. Without additional information to evaluate how shopper's behaviors and purchase capacity have changed in the two past year, it is possible that too excessive purchase in the beginning of these two year lead to their financial quandary then briddle their further purchase. Such phenomenon could seriously challenge the causal relationship mentioned above and render the author's recommendation much less advisable. Otherwise, if the author could prove that shopper have disgusted with skateboarding activity in city and their purchase capacity have nothing to do with their financial status the author's viewpoint will gain more weights.

Granted that such coincidence and given the fact about the store owner's idea and dramatic increase of litter and vandalism in the city, whether skateboarding actually do harm to business and city environment needs a second look. Behind the author's reasoning lie two critical implications. The first one is that store owners represented the truth and their opinion about harm of skateboarding's impair to their business is true. However, the probability that they just took these as an excuse to get more financial support from the city government must be considered and address. Yet, if the author could sufficiently demonstrate that the increasing skateboarding activities actually impede with majority of store's sales, his/her conclusion will be strengthened.

Furthermore, the second implication is that litter and vandalism are actually caused by the people engaging with skateboarding. While the skateboarder might use the public venue for their activity, the probability that they all conformed to the social conduct could not be excluded in advance. For example, such litter and vandalism actually stem from other people. Thus, we have no clues whether several destruction of city could be inculpated to skateboarding. If no, social destruction happenings are unlikely to relate with skateboarding.

Last but not least, while we can acknowledge for a moment that skateboarding actually heavily impact the business sales and city status, it remains to be seen whether the prohibition could immediately help business of Central Plaza return to the original level. Other factors, such as the recovery duration and shopper's recovery time, could seriously affect how long such approach would work. If shopper's and business sales have already been in the most worse situation, it is doubtful that a short recovery time could help city draw from such quandary.

In summary, while shopper's decline might be attributable to the increase of skateboarding, this is a conclusion that we can not derive from the information available in the passage. Furthermore, even if such coincidence represents their casual relationship, the recovery of the business sales and less city destruction out of enacting of such prohibition is still built upon implications, which are open to different probabilities. Only after these aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we efficiently evaluate this recommendation and reach a logically sound conclusion.