Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author recommends all colleagues and universities to adopt to honor codes similar to Groveton's, because of its efficiency to reduce cheat number in place. To support his/her claim, the author cites the comparison of cheating number between honor code and teacher-sponored-monitor, yearly report of cheating number under honor codes, as well as one recent survey for honor codes. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exists several questions regarding his/her lines of reasoning that requires further analysis. Therefore, the author's recommendation could end up being pretty convincing or invalid in the end, depending on the answers to these questions.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on whether the same cheating standard has been used for both honor codes and teacher-sponored-monitor, a question that is not yet answered. It is possible that honor codes program doesn't have the same principle and rules as the teacher's monitoring program, because students' scores of exams heavily impact their future improvement and job status in a long run. Without additional information to evaluate whether both of them are equal, it is likely that honor codes executed by students could open a loose end for them in order to give them a higher possibility to win good score via some suspected behaviors . Such phenomenon could heavily challenge the author's judgement about the efficiency of honor code progam and render the author's recommendation much less advisable. On the contrary, any valid proof that ? could strengthen the author's suggestion.

Granted that both of two program have the same standards and given the fact that decreasing cheating number, whether such honor codes program actually work efficiently needs a second look. Behind the author's recommendation lie two critical implications. The first one is that cheating number represents all the truth for the severity of dishonest behaviors in the exam. However, the probability that out of those seeming a few cheating case several cheating behaviors could be more flagarous than other must be considered and addressed. Yet, if the author could show that all of cheating behavior are under the same severity level, his/her recommendation will gain more weights.

Furthermore, the second implication is that the decrease int the recent five years stand for the trend in the future. While five years trend normally give credit for evaluation of educational result, the probability that cheating number trend might breach the trend in the future could not be precluded in advance. For example, as universities might introduce more difficult course later, and students who want to get hight score might resort to dishonest behavior to keep their high performance . Thus, we have no clues that cheating number would increase suddenly with changes of adoption of new course. If the course system keeps stable, such decline of cheating number is likely to stand for the trends and the author's recommendation will be strengthened. By contrast, the reverse trend could be expected from the unstable difficulty level of courses.

Finally, while we can acknowledge for a moment that cheating situation actually turn well after adoption of honor codes, it remains to be seen whether such program could be efficiently applied for such campus. Other factors, such as student qualities and university budgets, could also impact such application of program. If students' quality in other universities are averagedly poorer then Groventon, we are reluctant to say the same effect could be guaranteed by honor code program.

In summary, while cheating number decline is a good indication out of honor code, this is a conclusion that could not be derived from the information available in the passage. Even if honor code actually work for Groventon, its adoption for others is still built upon implications, which are open to different probabilities. Only after these questions could be adequately addressed can we efficiently evaluate the author's recommendation and draw a logically sound conclusion.