Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

After a long study journey from the primary school to the high school, then to university, students actually confront a quandary: does they take mainly courses of their own major or alternatively choose more learning outside these scope? The similar case also perplex educators who tend to designate university courses. While someone enthusiastically propose that every student should take a variety of courses outside their major, I have to present my clear opposition. Because many factors, such as diverse interrelationships between different disciplines, students' capacity and attitude to such knowledge expansion, have strictly checked the actual outgrowth away from our original expectation.

First of all, advocates of such suggestion might oppose my viewpoint. They might argue that learning additional knowledge beyond their own major could effectively extend students' viewpoint and in turn enhance their understanding to their major. Such examples proliferates in different fields. For example, students of computer science who learn more mathematic skills in private time, could help him understand further about algorithm and relevant data structure. Thus, when facing an abstract algorithm problem, such as path finding in graphic, they would not become confounded and such well-prepared skills might help them quickly stride out a dilemma. However, if we carefully pore over such helpful case, a conspicuous prerequisite raises up: if and only if those fields are closely related with each other, such across boundary leverage could actually work. We can not imagine that the language knowledge learnt from grammar course could actually enhance students' skills to solve with any scientific analytical problem or sport exercise goal. Therefore, not all of fields could lend their methodologies or specific skills to other field, especially across their different domain. For the claim mentioned above, it would only works for fields that share similar methodologies and closer interrelationship.

Furthermore, opposition might raise from the viewpoint that it is beneficial for students to learn more about other skills rather than in a narrow scope, which could help them accommodate to the future requirement either for entering society or further research works. For sure, a comprehensive skill set could help students improve their opportunities to catch up with success in career or university. Like the following case, a student who own both excellent language talent and adroit mathematic skill set, could easily surpass from the majority of competitors, when facing a issue involved with complex logic and transferring idea clearly to others. However, such generalists is so rare, because such development requires them to make tremendous efforts to learn thing besides their major, recognize and understand the target use case during application. Considering the limited time and onerous work payload, it is just visionary for us to force all of students to become such a versatile man. Thus, a feasible solution could be that to take the courses outside the major as a kind of optional one, and give sufficient time and discretion for student to do choice by their own.

Moreover, while I maintain that such suggestions might play well as an ancillary courses instead of a mandatory option, others might repudiate by the fact that a compulsory course might trigger student's energy to move up to guarantee the final effect. They might already find the case that student only works when having pressure of mandatory course, and other optional courses are only taken into a lower priority position. While it is true from some perspective, I have to emphasize that even if taken as a mandatory one, such goal would become still vacuous, because students would like to pass the assigned exam instead of learning knowledge beside. If this is the case, why not we step backward and reserve a suitable space for student to do their own choice?

In summary, even if such suggestion about additional courses is beneficial to some extent, whether we should implement it hastily as a compulsory choice actually fall into a difficult issue. Thus, instead of blindly applying to university course without weighting relevant advantage and weakness, a more deliberation should be taken to grant our good will of helping improvement of student skills become vacuous finally.