In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this passage, the author recommends replicating Butler's experience to reconstruct highway in Prunty city for the sake of changing bad traffic situation. To support his/her claim, the author cites result of current regulation of limiting speed in Prunty. Furthermore, he summarized Butler's road improvement project and praised for its efficacy for diminishing breaching of traffic rules from drivers. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, a closer scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lacks crucial supports and therefore we should consider more evidence to help evaluate such conclusion.

To start off, we need evidence to verify if Prunty's restriction of speed limit enacted since last year really failed. While it is shown that accidents has not been decreased and drivers still exceeded the speed limits, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that such regulation had no effect for benefiting the traffic status of Prunty city. Thus, additional evidence gains great significance to determine whether percentage of accidents have been diminished, or severity of breaching speed limits has been ameliorated than ever before. If new information shows that percentage of accidents happening has been actually increased or the severity of exceeding speed limits is worse than before, it is reasonably safe to claim that new regulation of Prunty actually was in vain and his/her viewpoint will be strengthened. On the contrary, if new evidence reveals the opposite situation, his/her stance will be weakened.

Furthermore, we need more evidence to ascertain whether Bulter Country's improvement project directly lead to the better traffic situation. First of all, while less reported accident statistics is astonishing, more detailed figure about accidents could lend great support to the author's recommendation. If situation of reported accidents are actually much more severe than that of Prunty, the efficacy of Bulter's traffic investment is in great doubt and his/her viewpoint will be rendered much less advisable. Second, we need to know whether such so-called reports covered all accidental cases in Bulter. If it turns out that major accidents have been skipped in order to counterfeit better report status, we are also unconvinced of effectiveness of the aforementioned road improvement project.

Last but not least, despite the presence of all previous evidence, a more accurate evaluation of the author's recommendation requires further information. Specific evidence is needed to decide whether Butler's experience applies to Prunty directly; that is to say, whether both of two cities confronted the similar traffic situation. To be specific, such similarities should include both objective traffic facilities, such as highway, vehicle basis, and human factors, such as citizens quality and their motivation to abide with traffic rules. If all of those are agreeable between two cities, it might be reasonable to convince us in regard to better traffic situation in Prunty after adaption of such approach. On the contrary, if both of those fundamental circumstances are diverged, we are reluctant to believe that blind replication of the aforementioned approach could ultimately work as expected.

In summary, the evidence cited by the author in the argument could not provide sufficiently conclusive information to make his/her viewpoint compelling. As a result, we need more evidence to evaluate such conclusion.