The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this passage, the author recommends to shorten the duration of work shift and predicts such change could reduce the number of on-the-job accidents efficiently. Quite convincing though such recommendation appears at first glance, the author's recommendation might be unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if prove unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author's conclusion.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on the assumption that less percentage of one-the-job accidents represents safer working situation in plants. Based on this assumption, the author therefore extend his/her solution to improve Quiot's safety level. However, such assumption might be potentially problematic because we do not know the exact employee number of two factories. Nor do we know that the latest situation of both accident rate. If it turns out that Quiot has actually much larger employee numbers or the latest accidental rate in Quiot has been improved, the author's statement about Quiot's inferior safety status will be unconvincing.

Furthermore, by stating that Quiot's longer work shift compared with Panoply Industries, the author rules out alternative reasons beside working shift which could lead to the accidental happening mentioned in the passage. However, we need to re-examine the assumption that the working shift duration is the unique one that accounts for the accident number. It is likely that the qualification of both employee and employee in the plants could impact their daily operation, thus contributed to the final accidental rate. It is of equal likelihood that the ultimate work pressure based on the overall profit status could also give great impacts on their workload, which implicitly lead to the increasing accidental rate. Furthermore, the commute distance between factories and their home could also exert great influence on their daily life, then lead to accidental rate fluctuation. If any of those probability is true, we are inclined to believe that a single gamble on reduction of working shift time could be somehow oversimplifed for handling with the complex cause of accidental happening.

Last but not least, while all of these aforementioned assumptions prove warranted, the author's recommendation would be still unnecessary due to the doubtful assumption regarding the efficiency of reduction of working shift time. Claiming that such reduction will be effective, the author seems too optimistic. It is unreasonable to assume that people will make use of those additional time for sleep. It is possible that people may leverage such time for additional private leisure, which could in turn increase the probability of their fatigue during the work. Also, the author hastily come to a conclusion that one hour shift could work, but does not discuss whether one more hours could actually help to ameliorate employee's exhausted status under current situation. Furthermore, even if a longer rest could help employee recover from the tension mental status, it is possible that they would not adapt to the tension of work when having too long rest. If they don't use extra time for rest, or one additional hours actually fall into limited or too long for their rehabilitation from work, we are reluctant to believe that such reduction of work shift could work as expected.

In summary, whether we should implement the author's recommendation heavily depends on the validity of these aforementioned assumptions. If these assumptions prove unwarranted, the author's recommendation could become little more than his/her wishful thinking and therefore we should resort to other solutions to decrease accidental rates in Quiot Manufacturing.