In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to an old saying, 'for an art to be truly adored, it should be understandable and lucid', similar is authors saying in the given statement. An artist expresses his emotions and thoughts through his creation. It can be in any from like, music, drawing, craft, poem, novel, etc. Sometimes the authors or composers make it easy to be found out, while sometimes the ideas are just too complex or abstruse to simply express, leaving the work needing some kinds of intelligence and having to be explained. After all, the real merit depends on the idea it conveys.

Moreover, to work on a film, a novel, a poem or any other form of art is a great challenge within itself. When we express our thoughts than listeners or readers understood on their cognitive process. Sometimes thoughts are such complex which is difficult to express without any other interpretation and only an artist can do it well. To understand the art is not easy for everyone because it depends on intellectual level but everyone get their own meaning from it. For example, today's abstract painting style is very famous but each like it is not possible because it is an abstract idea. It does not mean that it has less merits.

Furthermore, If we saw occupation of an artist he or she must work on some common ideas to sell their art. They make small understandable art pieces which people can understand easily and buy from stores. It does not indicate that only understandable form of art has worth. The intellectual people demand unique artistic work and they appreciate artists for it. For example, in India Bollywood music is very famous because it is easily understandable in comparison of classical music despite of, classical music is as much meritorious as other form of arts. People like to listen gazals and Sufi music also which is very difficult to interpret.

Finally, painting, novels, poetry, and other form of art is a medium to communicate feelings and thoughts. People use artists composition to express emotions to each other especially when they have difficulty to say directly. When it comes to emotions people have less difficulty to understand the art form. Gazals are toughest form poetry and people use it to express their feelings and they found it simple. There are the different type of people in every society and each person appreciate different form of art on the basis of their intellectual level as well as on their interest.

To sum up, the authors assertion seems to be correct it we saw market perspective whereas it is not important the understandable art forms have merit. There are people who simplify Geeta and Mahabharata Shlokas to make them easy which clearly indicate that complex art forms are also eminence among society.