It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

social group play important role in building identity of an individual. It provides the atmosphere to inculcate good qualities of identification. Nonetheless social groups are primary factor to define we, whereas it is only one of the factors contribute in process of creating oneness. Thus, I generally disagree with the issue statement. To substantiate my case this essay will illustrate my points and examples.

To begin with, the first and foremost point come in my mind is when a child take birth then he or she recognized by parents to social group. The appearance and parents become first identity of a child. Slowly child grow up with social exposure which affect him but the primary learning from parents stay same and reflect in his identity. The moral values and family influence are two strongest factors helps to mold personality. one example comes in my mind that if family member politely communicates with each other and the child of that family go in messy group of children, he get influence for short time and become polite when he return within family. The social group is secondary factor which influence individual’s identity.

Additionally, the identity or personality has two major factors primarily is hereditary and secondary is family and social groups. An introvert person never like to share his feelings to others so, he will not change with talkative groups influence. Similarly, an extrovert person feels suffocated in less talkative groups. The social groups influence the characteristics of the personality whereas the traits stay unchanged in any situation. Many psychologist studies on traits of personality and they found that the social groups influence them but not changed. Traits become same in favorable form.

However, the social groups or peers group pressured our identity and force to change according to social situations. But the changes are not permanent, and the identity come to original form with time. For example, when the child take admission in school the peer pressure challenged his moral values. Temporary shift in the child's personality noticed during peers’ pressure but as the child get his own comfort area the original personality raised up. sometimes when a child doesn’t get comfort zone then the original personality bust out as suppressed emotions. So, the social groups can influence the identity or can help to nurture present identity although may not change completely.

In conclusion, the aforementioned examples and discussion come to a point that the social groups are not primarily for our identification whereas its secondary factor which influence for short period of time.