The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material—which includes paper, plastic, and metal—should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council talks about landfill which is used for garbage disposal. Two years ago, the consultant predicted that landfill will be full within five years but as now people started recycling some material so, the space in landfill will not full in long time. The argument seems to be convincing at first glance, but it has different loopholes which makes it weaken. The following paragraphs talks about weakness of the given argument.

Firstly, the town's residents have recycling the material such as paper, plastic and metals for further use. It is a good initiative to make space in landfill but there are limitations of the recycling of the material. It is difficult to recycle the material at home because people have limited time and energy to utilize in such menial works. As well as people's need should meet with recycled material then only that material can be used by them. For example, we utilize the sweets and cookies boxes to save things, but they used for long time and so many boxes collected, after a limited time I get puzzled with the collection of boxes. There is one more point that they talked about only paper, plastic and metal waste and what about other waste material such as glass, food, old cloths hairs, napkins and diapers etc. The chairperson should consider all type of waste material and should pay attention on limitation of people lived in their town.

Secondly, the citizens will encourage to recycle the material by doubling the charges to pick up household garbage is also seeming impractical. It depends on the citizens weather they have time or not. Everyone wants to save earth from garbage and recycle the material, but they do not have sufficient time to invest on recycling process. It may strong possibility that people get ready to pay double charges and become relaxed from such time-consuming process of recycling material. Instead of encouraging people to recycle the material chairperson should open recycling unit near landfill. For example, in my city collector develop the recycling units near composite pit and the municipal corporation collect the garbage and recycle the material. It gives employment to any people also and the city become clean and people also relaxed from daily problems of garbage.

Finally, the arguer also supported the points with survey to make the argument stronger, but it is not clearly mentioned. According to survey more than 90 percent respondents that they would recycle the waste in future. There are two major flaws, first is the 90 percent is not mentioning the whole town it indicates the respondent of the people who participated in the survey. It may be possible half of the population of the town participated in the survey. Secondly, the respondents committed to recycle the material in future and they did not mention any time limits. It may be possible that they start recycling in 2050 which is too late. The West Egg Town Council should initiate the steps to recycle the material in spite of encouraging the people.

Conclusively, based on above discussion the given argument is not well thought by the arguer. The garbage is one of the major problems not only for cities, but it become challenge for countries also. They should take steps to manage the garbage in holistic approaches despite of encouraging people to do it at individual level.