The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material—which includes paper, plastic, and metal—should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

The argument presented that the West Egg's landfill would last for a more period of time then the initially predicted is fallacious because it makes certain crucial assumptions without any concrete evidence or facts and based on the assumption we can definitely confirm whether the given statement is true, event such as that the amount of the recycling material will double on the assumption of the pick up chargers .

firstly we must understand that the consultant which predicted the timeline of the landfill these are not any government authorised agency. any data is not clearly mentioned about them so they could favour various different agency such as the cleaning agency which would be eventually be hired to separate the recycling dump and hazard dump and so on .its been also mentioned that the resident has shown response and they have recycled twice the number of garbage they did in previous years but this data could be fallacious as there are no mentions to the source of the information .

futhermore in way is good to our that people become aware of there responsibility in terms of garbage disposal and help civics of the society but over here there is a percentage statics which says some over 90 per cent in a survey would do recycling and on this assumption more assumption was made without question about the respondent the surveyor or the number of respondents to which the statics was based . it is worth exploring it can a case where only 10 people for surveyed for a city population on this basis the number was reported or could be the case were the surveyor and their teams and they themselves became respondents and played the role of the citizen and bases on this drafted the report.

lastly whatever might be the case we must understand is a high time where we must responsibility for our actions and stop treating our mother earth like landfills which someday will eventually become full if we don't stop treating her this way.

To conclude the assumption that the landfills will last more than the amount of time predicted is logical in convincing due to numerous assumption made in the argument and without considering the source or the credibility of the agency involved in making this decision and the surveys and so the whole argument is in convincing.