The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material — which includes paper, plastic, and metal — should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above statement, the author claims that landfill place in the West Egg Town Council will last longer than they expected, due to higher volition of the residents for recycling. While supporting the argument, however, the author makes numerous assumptions which cannot be taken for granted, thus the claim remains largely unconvincing without further proof to verify unjustified assumptions.

First and foremost, the author bases his or her argument on the pre-supposition that the participation of the residents to recycling has been doubled, meaning that they are willing to recycle their waste, based on the recent trend for the past two years. However, the author may have neglected the possibilities that the it was an ephemeral or an exceptional case, as the period of data collection is relatively brief. For instance, the trend can be changed sooner or later when they feel uncomfortable to carry on recycling practices. Also, if the technology for recycling has not kept up with their determination, they would more likely to give up recycling and come back to their original way of disposing waste. Therefore, it is necessary to provide the general trend, from long-term data or further observation, as the argument is weakened or strengthened by it.

Secondly, closed to this is the author’s assertion that more than nine out of ten citizens are willing to engage in recycling. Yet, it is not evident that the sample number of the survey is significant in its size and can be enough representative of the whole population to anticipate the general reponse about recylcing. As a vivid example, what if the survey was based on 1% of people of all the residents, or the sample subjects shared similar lifestyle, values, and mindsets about environmental conservation? They may be more willing to recycle their waste than common people. This would have engendered biased results and degraded the quality and reliability of the survey. Hence, the author, in support of his or her clain, should have provided the evidence pertaining that the survey data are well representative of the general people in the city about their thought for recycling.

Lastly, although people are devoted to involve in recycling practices of waste, it does not necessarily guarantee the successful reduction of the waste to go to landfills. This is mainly due to the fact that other factors can be more significant to determine the degree of the success for reducing the waste than the mere determination of people. For instance, if the city is not equipped with appropriate facilities and technology for recycling, the residents would face huge problems in terms of engaging in their continual recycling, as it would not be properly supported by the city authority. In light of this, for the memorandum to be cogent, the author should have considered whether other factors may not be necessary in order to bring off the desired result.