The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument above cites several pieces of arguments about why central plaza has seen a decrease in the number of visitors. it states that the influx of skateboarding players induced the decrease in customers to the shopping center. however, with its current base of information, the argument lacks support for this conclusion and needs more specific and exact evidence.

The authors extrapolates that the causes of a decrease in the number of shopper in central plaza was the people who relished skateboarding. however, it may have been other reasons why people halt shopping the place any more. There might have been the matters of the poor quality of service, high expense or parking inconvenience etc. Hence, businesspeople in the plaza should examine the real causes of the phenomena by running more investigations such as questionnaire. Without knowing the concrete reasons and removing skateboarding lovers would not bring any changes.

All these confounding variables aside, perhaps the most questionable thing about the main argument cited is that how we can relate the decreasing trends in the number of shoppers with those who played skateboarding. Conversely against the claim, the skateboaders may have contributed to bringing more profits to stores in the plaza, as they were also potential customers. Were it not for them, the revenue of the plaze stores would have been drastically dropped.

Another error in the argument is based on the preposition that skateboarders deteriorated the exterior view of central plaza through making bandalism and trashes. however, this assumption may have been wrong approach, as other determinents could be involved. it could have been the results of lack of police strolling around the building. Therefore, the plaze should investigate the fundamental reasons of this problem and take an action to resolve.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the author’s argument reveals that the author does not have enough justification to say that skateboaders are the root cause of a decrease of visiting shoppers. Although the author’s claim certainly points out the coincidence between decreasing visitors and increasing skateboarders in the plaza, he or she ought to research the underlying causal factors more exclusively.