to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

No one can gainsay that how we live can reflect on the characteristics and attributes of a society. Indisputably, some individuals are of the opinion that countryside or suburban areas are liable to preserve the traditional custom or original traits of a country. However, not everyone supports such idea. In some cases, major cities such as capitals may have a variety of cultural heritages and places, so that we can relish a nation’s beauty and history.

First and foremost, people believe that boonies have well preserved the native custom and culture of a country than concrete jungle). That is mainly due to the fact that those areas are less developed and industrialised, and their residents tend to engage in a traditional lifestyle. In fact, in South Korea, most people in the countryside are the elderly who engage in customary agricultural production and tend to live in a traditional Korean-style house, whereas urbanites live in an apartment and work in somewhat new industry. Similarly, people in countryside are less influenced by foreign culture and tradition, while the urban areas are often mingled with other cultures, as everything is not being internationalized . Many of people in surban areas still follow the old custom and tradition, so that it is easier to experience the original custom in those places. Therefore, many claim that we can learn better about a nation’s traits by basking in the traditional lifestyle in the suburban district.

However, what was alluded above should not be overgeneralized to all contexts. This is because many major cities nowardays also contain well-conserved cultural heritages or legacy. First of all, as a vivid example, in Paris, there are one of the most historical places, Louver Museum, which possesses a number of artifacts such as paintings, drawings, scuptures, antiquities and other masterpieces of important artists in France. People can relish beautiful arts and and learn about (gain a understanding of) lifestyle of the people in old days by visiting these places. Secondly, people can familiarize themselves with history in the culturally important places in a major city. As many historical places in cities can evince what has happened to the people in a country, this is also helpful to educate young people. For instance, Westminster in London may enlighten us about the history of governance style from feudal to democratic dominion, by observing the change of the role of the place. As seen from these examples, we can understand that major cities also have a lot of historically and culturally importance that people can learn about culture, arts, and history.

Based on above discussion, there is no denying the fact that countryside can delineate the original custom and culture of a society, because it is less developed and influenced by foreign culture than the urban area. However, we should not neglect the fact that metropolitan area like capitals also have well-conserved cultural places like museum, so that people can enjoy the historical and aesthetic aspects of the nation. Therefore, we should appreciate the importance of the major city for promoting the awareness of the culture and should make efforts to make our culture known to a variety of people in the world by means of advocating the cultural heritage in a major city.