Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

No one can gainsay that a proper education system is required to bring about our children to become more intelligent and competent. Some people, in the sense, are in the position that school or college themselves are not essential to educate children, as students are able to learn themselves. However, not everyone agrees on such position. There are certainly ways that school and teachers assist their students in learning better.

First and foremost, some people argue that forcing young people to go to school and follow a systemized curriculum does not help them to learn more, when they are not motivated and also possibly lose their creativity. Most lectures in school can be something that some youngsters are not interested in, such as math, literature, and they would prefer doing other things creatively that they desire to study. While it is often believed that those who lag behind the school would become less successful, compared to those who finish their education courses well. However, it can be a kind of prejudice, if we refer to the following examples. Steve Jobs and Bill Gates once dropped out of college due to the lack of his interest and started his own business. They were able to learn what they thought necessary and created one of the most astonishing inventions in the world, iPhone and Microsoft. Therefore, it can be concluded that learning does not seem to have anything to do with going to school, but to do with someone's willpower to do so.

However, what was alluded to above should not be overgeneralized to all context. Alongside those exceptional historical figures, most of people do need someone to help them in learning. Teachers are generally familiar with what their students need and develop, depending on their level, being trained in that major. Students also benefit from their guidance and advice, but also get inspired by their teachers. One famous example can be the story of Helen Keller. She was deaf and blind, and was illiterate, because no one helped her learn language and how to communicate. However, since she met Sullivan teacher, she was able to learn languages and start to read literatures and create her own poetry, and even later she entered to a university by continuous Sullivan's dedication for her. Sullivan, exactly understood what Kelen needed and constantly encouraged and assisted her to keep learning. Helen, later, as her teacher did, devoted her life to establishing the education system for the disabled and inspired and helped millions of disabled students to keep on studying. As seen from this example, teachers can be most important assistant as well as a role model that our young children follow and gain benefit from.

To sum up, there are no denying the fact that to some people, education in school or college may not be necessary to continue their path of career, as they have strong willpower and determination to learning. However, most of people would need teachers and their assistance to study new things. Therefore, we should make more concentrated efforts to make more efficient education system that can help students to develop their capacity and potential.