Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

In the above statement, the author claims that they should devote more time to coverage of weather forecast and local news, in order to restore their decreased view rates. While supporting the argument, however, the author makes numerous assumptions that cannot be taken for granted, thus the argument remains largely unconvincing without further evidence to verify unjustified assumptions.

First and foremost, the author bases his or her claim on the presupposition that people become discontent with their limited coverage of weather and local news, based on recently-received complaints. However, it is unclear that the complaints are significant in size and quality to represent the whole population watching the late-night news programe. If those complaints have been of minority that share similar opinions or program preferences for weather and local commentary, the complaints can be a skewed perspective and not represent the general idea of people. Therefore, the author, in support of his or her assertion, needs to have provided the evidence pertaining to whether the data of complaints are fully representative of the whole population of the viewers.

Second another authorian claim is that the lack of coverage of weather and local news had caused a reduction in the advertisement contracts of local corporates, and therefore they may have to deal with more of them henceforth. However, the author may have neglected the possibilities that the dearth of coverage of them may not be the most consequential cause for cancelling the contracts. For instance, local companies may have prefered a channel to deal with international news with a wide range of viewers to show and advertize their products, or they might have just lacked the budget enough to continue their advertisement with late-night news. Thus, it is essential to provide the evidence pertaining that the lack of coverage of weather forecast and local news is the main reason of declining number of advertising contracts, as the argument largely relies on it.

Lastly, although inserting the section of weather forecast and local news in the program may have drawn more viewers who are interested in these parts, it does not necessarily guarantee that it would restore the rates of viewrs upto its previous level. This is mainly due to the likelihood that the main reason of decreasing view rates are not a issue of low coverage of weather and local news, and other factors may have played a main role. For example, people may have been reluctant to use the late-news show, as they had disliked the main presenter or program style, or their predilection had been moved toward other news channel that consists of a creative style and fun talks. Furthermore, there could have been a shift in people's preference from news to entertainment shows or music channels. In this case, even though they start to cover weather or local news, they would not be able to get high attraction of viewers unless they change the context of the programm from news to an entertainment show. In light of this, for the menorandum to be cogent, the author should have presented the proof that the lack of coverage of weather and local news is the main cause of the declining rates of view.

To sum u, the author's claim is not very supported well in the current form. Further evidence considering about the representativeness of complaints, causal relationship between decreasing number of advertisement and the low coverage of weather and local news not to mention the relationship between the problem of coverage and declining rates of view is essential in determining the validity of the author's conclusion.