In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

No one gainsays that great discovery or achievement in science, technology and society have brought significant changes in our life and made it more expedient and sophisticated. Some claim that regardless of area of fields, novel discovery is always derivative of the past achievements. However, there are certainly causal factors such as accident to contribute to the greatest discoveries irrelevant to the past.

one may argue that without the support of previous findings or development, people in the present time would not be able to attain breakthrough as much as it would with them. To elucidate further on this issue, Galileo Galiei can be a good example. he used telescopes invented prior to his time to observe moon, planets in the solar system, and starts in the galaxy. having had the effective tools to observe the stars, he could easily investigate the space and later on, published his new theory that the earth and planets in the solar system revolved around the sun. Another vivid example can be the story of the Wright Brothers who invented the first human controlling airplane. In their time, there were already other prototype-like aircrafts created by other inventors and got intrigued by them in dreaming up their own. All in all, these examples illustrate how previous findings and developments can influence people in the present to make great things.

Nonetheless, it cannot be denied that other determinants certainly play great roles in novel discovery. first of all, many greatest findings in the world were done by serendipity. To illustrate this, Peniciline, the first antibiotics to save numerous life from fatal bacteria diseases were circuitously found when the Penicilin-producing fungi sneaked through the open window into the culture plate of pathogenic bacteria. What’s more, Isacc Newton was having a rest in his garden when he realized the theory of gravity by accidently dropping apple on his head. they did not endeavor to refer to specific ideas or findings that were previously constructed, yet they were able to find one of the most significant discoveries.

To sum up, there are many factors that can influence the notable discoveries. While there are surely contributions of the past achievements, many cases of the greatest findings seem to be more related to accidental moments to provide new thoughts and ideas.